Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Based on suggestions from fellow reviewers I made the following changes: 1/2 cup yoghurt for applesauce, 1 1/2 cups oatbran for wheat bran, 3 TBSP & 2tsp egg creations for 1 large egg, raspberries for blueberries and used 2 cups instead of 1. I also added 2 tsp vital wheat gluten and added 1/4 flax meal. Used muffin top pans and mini muffin tins for remainder of batter. Absolutely to die for. Didn't taste "healthy" like some recipes that are awful. The vital wheat gluten made the muffins rise and less dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
i cant really rate this recipe because i couldnt find wheat bran so i used farina and some instant oatmeal oats. with those changes it was still an OK muffin...a little dry but good for a healthy muffin. im gonna try again next time with the wheat bran and rate it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Health...yes. Taste good.....not really. But ya know, the kids ate em and didn't fuss about 'em. I did substitute the 1/2 C of apple sauce with rhubarb sauce. I thought this maybe caused the batter to be thin, but after reading some of the review, I don't think this changed the batter consistancy. Though I didn't care much for these muffins, it was a nice way to use my left over bran flakes and rhubarb sauce. I give it a 2 star since the kids liked 'em. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Yum. Being so low in fat I was able to add my favorite struesal topping. A simple mixture of a couple TB's of butter and some flour, sugar and oatmeal. Sprinkle on top and bake as directed! Yum.I am a muffin lover and love the fact that I can eat these guilt-free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This is the second time I've made these muffins and I just love them! As with others, I've made a few modifications- decreased the brown sugar to 1/2 cup, added 1 tsp cinnamon for more flavor, and also added 1 cup raspberries. The double berries make them SO decadent, and because there is no fat in the muffins, I don't feel a bit guilty about topping some nice warm muffins with butter and enjoying them with my morning coffee. This recipe is so perfect-you can freeze them to have leftovers for mornings where you are on the go and in a rush. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
These mffins were very good. I used Trader Joe's Bran Flakes and inadvertently used 1 tsp of vanilla instead of half. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as written, with of course one exception. I heapped the cup of blueberries and added 1/2 cup of raspberries. My husband and I love them. I agree just as delicious and moist as regular muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
its a bran muffin - good and moist. nothing miraculous. don't use paper liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I calculated 3 WW PointsPlus for these! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWMolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
These were fantastic muffins!! Thanks for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States