Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
These muffins were great. I did the recipe as is with the exception of using Eggbeaters instead of egg, and I added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts for some added texture/crunch. These were a hearty and healthy snack. We'll make these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
super healthy and so tasty... I didn't have any available muffin tins to I put mine in a loaf pan and baked lowered the oven temperature to 350 and baked for 45 minutes.. It could have went a little longer probably 50-55 minutes... but it tasted wonderful and couldn't get any healthier...unless you cut back on the sugar... which I may do next time... if you think it tastes a little bland add some cinnamon but otherwise i like it just how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
these were delicious! although mine tended to be blue - maybe used too many blueberries? they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Made these and instead of Wheat Bran I used Flax Seed Meal. Instead of Brown Sugar I used 16 Packets of Splenda (I was desperate). I also used 1 cup of whole wheat flour to substitute the white flour. I must say I've been looking for a low-carb muffin and these were super delicious. I cooked them for about 20-23 minutes. Perfect for a Breakfast on the go! My only issue with this recipe was that the center was a bit mushy but the muffin itself was very moist. If anyone has a tip on how to get rid of the "mush", let me know. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This is a great recipe just as is! However, it is also extremely versatile. I've made a number of variations on it over time, and it always comes out well. Using mashed banana instead of applesauce gives it extra flavor as well as natural sweetness; grated carrot and apple juice is also nice; replacing half the flour with instant oats works, too; adding cinnamon gives it some warmth. Oh, and I've also replaced the brown sugar with agave nectar or honey -it's great! (about 1/2 cup) In short, by keeping the same dry to wet ratio, the sky's the limit with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreas84

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Definitely a go-to recipe for times when you're in the mood for health food. Extremely moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Very Good recipe, however to make it a little more healthy, I changed the ingredients up a bit, give it a try :) 1 1/2 cups All-Bran cereal 1 cup vanilla whey protein powder solution 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce 1 egg white (or 2 tbsp of the carton egg whites) 1/3 cup brown sugar blend 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract 1 cup oat flour 1 teaspoon baking soda 1 teaspoon baking powder 1/2 teaspoon salt 1 cup blueberries (I used mixed berries)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Excellent! Used frozen berries. I had oat bran instead of wheat bran, added in a bit more baking powder/baking soda, the cinnamon suggested, egg white instead of egg, 2/3 c applesauce. This made 18 muffins. I baked at 350 for 23 minutes (my oven runs a little hot) and they came out moist, chewy, delish. The only downside is the frozen berries bled into the batter turning it bluish, but who cares?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Really good recipe for yummy moist muffins. I also topped them with strawberries for a little extra and added cinnamon to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Love these, make them almost every Sunday to go with my yogurt for breakfast through the week. Moist low fat and healthy. I do however substitute the brown sugar with Splenda and use all whole wheat flour instead of 1/2 & 1/2. Hubby loves them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States