Low-Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I was a tad leary of the mayo in it but was on the hunt for a recipe I had everything for, and was very low on butter... it was SOOOO yummy, but I needed to increase the baking time to about an hour, and there was still a bit that was gooey.... but hands down... YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bawlf, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Tumbler Ridge, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I doubled this recipe and it made 3 loaves. Very yummy. I also used half mayo and half apple sauce and it was excellent. Super moist with a nice tang. I added some cinnimon as well, 2 tsp. Have made several times now and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goofy_hobbit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is so completely delicious! My kids like it better than the 'regular' fat-in banana bread that I make. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I was a bit nervous when I saw mayo, but this is by far one of the best banana breads I have made and ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This IS the best, but in using 2 brand new ovens for this recipe (1 electric and 1 gas -- we move every year to a different ski resort), I found that it definitely does need to cook about 10 min. longer -- 55 minutes is perfect. I always make it ahead and freeze in in individual wrappings for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Big Sky, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I wasn't sure about the mayo in this, but it turned out great! The end result is a moist, delicious banana bread that doesn't have as many calories and fat grams as most recipes but just as much taste. I am definitely keeping this recipe for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Very Moist-- light Mayo did trick! added Pumpkin spice for favor, less sugar!! Will make again All loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Oh my! This was a wonderful recipe! I too substituted 1/2 the sugar with Splenda. Don't be afraid of the mayo, you'll never know you're eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I was very leery of the mayo in this, because I hate mayo, but I didn't have any yogurt or other substitutes, so I gave it a try. My third banana was way too overripe, so I used 2 big ripe bananas and a tad extra mayo. I did sub out a half cup of flour for whole wheat. I put the batter into 3 mini loaf pans, baked for about 35 minutes at 325 degrees and just tried my first slice. Delicious!! I am impressed with how simple this recipe is, and how great the results were. No soggy middle, no dry texture, no mayo flavor, just pure goodness. This may be my new go-to recipe for banana bread. Much simpler than my other healthy version, and it tastes like full fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
AMAZING !!!! This recipe is fantastic...I,(like other reviews) wasn't too sure about using mayo or sour cream.... but... I was pleasantly surprised....I made one loaf with mayo and another with fat-free sour cream.. both equally delicious...I also added 1 tsp baking powder...it is a MUST TRY.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States