Low-Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Like others I was a little leery about the mayonnaise in the recipe. When I opened the oven door and saw such a beautiful, golden, high loaf of banana bread I was very impressed! Very moist, light, and delicious. I followed the recipe as written except replaced 1/2 cup of the white flour with 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
The best banana bread recipe I have ever tried I make this almost every other week. I typically add some chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyof2
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I took everyone's suggestions and did half mayo, half applesauce. Half brown sugar and half white sugar. And lastly half whole wheat flour half white flour. It also took longer then 45 minutes for mine to cook but my power went out halfway through and I wasn't sure exactly how much time was left when I had to restart my oven. Nonetheless it was moist and very delicious. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is surprisingly good! I do not know why the traditional recipe needs so much butter, but I like the taste and aroma. One change I made was the addition of 1/2 chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was sooo good it was hard not to eat more than 1 serving. Even my husband ate it with all the mmm ahhh yumm noises. I only had white flour so thats what i used, although next time i will have whole wheat, and instead of a cup of white sugar i used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of splenda. I only had two bananas so i did add about 1/2 cup of no sugar added applesauce. I also used plain unsweetened greek yogurt instead of mayo, even though i have the light stuff, it gave it a little protien and got rid of any extra fat, calories, sodium, and even cut back on the carbs. I also was a little leary off the "tang" of the mayo. I added 2 oz. of crushed up walnuts too. Cooked for a little longer to but my oven is difficult. Overall very moist, and unrecognizable as "diet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reva Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This is so moist! It's delicious- instead of the egg I added in about a half a cup of blueberries. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I must add my voice to those mayo skeptics, rather the voice of my daughter, an actual mayo lover (fries won't do without it). I told her to reserve judgment until she tried it, and she has decided that it is the best banana bread I've ever made - and she finally admits that it's cake instead of bread - although with the substitution of wheat flour, it has even more nutrition (to balance out the chocolate chips..). Thanks for this simple, easy-to-remember, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Copland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This recipe turned out great! Followed exactly as directed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Excellent recipe. Couldn't help to tweak this to make it healthier as I am trying to reduce cal and fat where I can. This is a great base recipe and very easy to make. VERY!!! Changes: Flour: 1/2 cup wholemeal flour and 1 cup white. Will try all wholemeal next time. Only had 2 Bananas so added: 61g Brambly Apple Sauce Added 93g Blueberries (had some left over from some muffins and wanted to use them up) Added 2.5 tsp of cinnamon - will add more the next time as I LOVE cinnamon Only used 1/2 cup (110g) of light brown muscovado sugar and no white. I thought it was sweet enough with the added fruit. I love sugar and sweet things but this is a healthier option. When using brown you dont need to use as much sugar. I dusted the greased pan with flour and cinnamon :) Used soured cream instead of mayo as it was expiring soon and wanted to use it up. The smell throughout the house was divine and couldn't help braking a small piece off when it was cooling on the wrack. RECOMMEND RECOMMEND RECOMMEND happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States