Low-Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is surprisingly good! I do not know why the traditional recipe needs so much butter, but I like the taste and aroma. One change I made was the addition of 1/2 chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was sooo good it was hard not to eat more than 1 serving. Even my husband ate it with all the mmm ahhh yumm noises. I only had white flour so thats what i used, although next time i will have whole wheat, and instead of a cup of white sugar i used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of splenda. I only had two bananas so i did add about 1/2 cup of no sugar added applesauce. I also used plain unsweetened greek yogurt instead of mayo, even though i have the light stuff, it gave it a little protien and got rid of any extra fat, calories, sodium, and even cut back on the carbs. I also was a little leary off the "tang" of the mayo. I added 2 oz. of crushed up walnuts too. Cooked for a little longer to but my oven is difficult. Overall very moist, and unrecognizable as "diet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This is so moist! It's delicious- instead of the egg I added in about a half a cup of blueberries. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I must add my voice to those mayo skeptics, rather the voice of my daughter, an actual mayo lover (fries won't do without it). I told her to reserve judgment until she tried it, and she has decided that it is the best banana bread I've ever made - and she finally admits that it's cake instead of bread - although with the substitution of wheat flour, it has even more nutrition (to balance out the chocolate chips..). Thanks for this simple, easy-to-remember, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This recipe turned out great! Followed exactly as directed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Excellent recipe. Couldn't help to tweak this to make it healthier as I am trying to reduce cal and fat where I can. This is a great base recipe and very easy to make. VERY!!! Changes: Flour: 1/2 cup wholemeal flour and 1 cup white. Will try all wholemeal next time. Only had 2 Bananas so added: 61g Brambly Apple Sauce Added 93g Blueberries (had some left over from some muffins and wanted to use them up) Added 2.5 tsp of cinnamon - will add more the next time as I LOVE cinnamon Only used 1/2 cup (110g) of light brown muscovado sugar and no white. I thought it was sweet enough with the added fruit. I love sugar and sweet things but this is a healthier option. When using brown you dont need to use as much sugar. I dusted the greased pan with flour and cinnamon :) Used soured cream instead of mayo as it was expiring soon and wanted to use it up. The smell throughout the house was divine and couldn't help braking a small piece off when it was cooling on the wrack. RECOMMEND RECOMMEND RECOMMEND happy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
AMAZING !!!! This recipe is fantastic...I,(like other reviews) wasn't too sure about using mayo or sour cream.... but... I was pleasantly surprised....I made one loaf with mayo and another with fat-free sour cream.. both equally delicious...I also added 1 tsp baking powder...it is a MUST TRY.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I was very leery of the mayo in this, because I hate mayo, but I didn't have any yogurt or other substitutes, so I gave it a try. My third banana was way too overripe, so I used 2 big ripe bananas and a tad extra mayo. I did sub out a half cup of flour for whole wheat. I put the batter into 3 mini loaf pans, baked for about 35 minutes at 325 degrees and just tried my first slice. Delicious!! I am impressed with how simple this recipe is, and how great the results were. No soggy middle, no dry texture, no mayo flavor, just pure goodness. This may be my new go-to recipe for banana bread. Much simpler than my other healthy version, and it tastes like full fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Oh my! This was a wonderful recipe! I too substituted 1/2 the sugar with Splenda. Don't be afraid of the mayo, you'll never know you're eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I took another reviewer's suggestion and used half light mayo and half applesauce. Also used 4 very ripe medium sized bananas. When making banana things I like to blend them in the blender with the other wet ingredients--I did that here, too. Subbed 1/2 cup bread flour and also added 2 tbl oat bran. Cut sugar down to 3/4 cup and added 1/3 cup chocolate chips on top of the batter when it was in the pan so they wouldn't sink to the bottom. The choc chips make it so sweet I could even cut the sugar down more next time. It took 50 minutes to bake and even then it was very moist and the texture is a little gummy but not that noticeable. However, the flavor is great and my family liked this a lot. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States