Low Fat Apple Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
These were great! I added some cinnamon and vanilla because I love the way they smell when baking, but they also help bring out the natural sweetness of the bran and apple (which I chopped instead of grated). I also sub.ed 1/2 cup of oats for 1/2 cup of the flour just for kicks. ;) Even my younger sister who turns up her nose to anything healthy loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Made these yesterday, they're ok for a low-fat low-cal snack but not nice enough to scoff the lot in one sitting - which is a good thing I suppose! I added 2 tbsp splenda to the mix in response to previous reviews that said these muffins weren't very sweet, however I found this made them way too sweet so will leave that out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Very good! I used Pineapple and raisins instead of apples. They are delicious! YOu may want to add a bit of sugar or Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Great low fat muffins. I made the following changes. I added vanilla and cinnamon. I chopped the apples instead of grating them. I did not have buttermilk so I added a tablespoon of vinegar to 1 cup milk. It is true as other reviewers wrote the muffins are not very sweet, but I felt that they were sweet enough for a breakfast muffin. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
First time I dared to try bran muffins (let alone actually make them myself) and these are great! Moist and tasty - a nice change from the overly sweet, dry, non-bran quick mix kind you buy in a bag at the store. I'll happily make these again! (And other people liked them too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUHRAYCEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This recipe gets 5* from me. Low fat and good, two things that are hard to combine. We like these muffins a lot, and they are only 2pts if you are following Weight Watchers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
good, healthy muffins. although they are a little dry. i chose to add 1tsp of cinnamon and had to add an extra 1/8 of milk because the mixture was very biscuit-like. would be good with maybe some honey on top or coconut in the recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ABS140
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
I found these muffins surprisingly tasty considering the lack of fat (and relative lack of sugar). I added some raisins and cinnamon to mine, and that seemed to help give thema lightly spicy flavour. The bran makes them very fibrous, and they are much denser than regular muffins, but if you are on a diet these are great! ps, I wish i could try substituting apple sauce and dried buttermilk, but i'm from the UK and you can't buy those things over here! :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
These were very bland. Not much flavor. I did not add apples just applesauce. I am sorry these were just not for us. Maybe if you add a little sugar. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
These were pretty good, but mine came out a little dry. I used whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 tsp of baking soda, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 c. of diced apple, and 1/2 c. of all natural applesauce. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/3 c. of raisins. The apple taste did get lost, but the raisins were a nice addition. These muffins are GREAT for the added fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States