Low Fat Apple Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
First time baking these muffins, and they came out great! Especially considering I changed a few things, I used skim milk instead of buttermilk (had to add some extra drops of milk to the bowl though) and added 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. I love blueberries, so instead of using an apple, I added a few frozen blueberries to the tops of muffins once they were in the muffin pan. I will definitely make these muffins again, very healthy and hearty tasting. Next time w/ apple. Very healthy and hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Delicious! They are a little on the non-sweet side, so if you want to sweeten them up i would recommend some apple butter. But I like them just fine plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkoeppen315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I hate to give this a bad review because I normally love bran muffins, but these were extremely bland, with an odd, wet texture and an unpleasant baking soda aftertaste. There are other bran muffins on allrecipes that are a lot better. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Love these muffins. To make it a bit healthier and to use what I had available, I replaced the buttermilk with 1 cup low fat yogurt. Also, if you are like me and like to avoid using eggs, I use egg replacer to equate the egg whites. I grated the apple with the skin. I added dates for more fiber. Love this recipe. Next time I'll add some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I also didn't care for these. Another reviewer said flavorless, I'd have to agree. I tried to tweak the recipe here and there to make it better because I really wanted to make bran muffins, but alas, I just couldn't pull a good muffin out of this recipe if my life depended on it. Granted, I'm a "foodie" and a little pudgy, LOL. I'll keep looking, and I'm sorry for the poor review. I honestly do appreciate your putting your recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KY Piano Teacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
No doubt that this is a very healthy muffin recipe, but I personally can use a little bit more sugar, and next time when I make this again, I will probably grate 1/2 apple, and dice 1/2 apple so I can still taste the apple in the muffine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Here's the trick to making them rise: preheat to 350, turn to 400 when you put them in the oven, bake for 13-15 mins. Good base recipe, here are my changes: 2 Tbsp ground flax seed, 1 T. vanilla extract, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/4 c. applesauce, 1 whole apple (I had gala apples on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This muffin has great flavor and I'm impressed with the nutritional values. I changed a few things, but the recipe was basically the same. I substituted whole wheat flour and added 1 TBS of gluten, added 1/2 c applesauce, and 1/2 c orange-flavored Craisins instead of the grated apple. They baked for 20 minutes, by mistake, and were still terrific. Not too sweet and a good texture. I also recommend not using the paper liners as the muffins did stick to them, but they came out cleanly from the foil liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These were quite good. I think anyone who says they didn't like them might not take them for what they are. Super simple and very low fat. You might not win any baking contests with this recipe but they are a yummy snack. I threw in two pinches of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of vanilla and had no apples so used 1/4 C. of applesauce. I also sloshed in just a little extra buttermilk. Moist and tasty. I had two for breakfast and froze the rest. I will be making this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I did not care for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States