Low Fat Apple Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
For low fat muffins these are pretty good! I changed a couple of things. I added whole wheat flour instead of regular and added a tsp of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla. They are NOT sweet, as Jenny already said, so if you want sweeter add more sugar. They end up being 1 point on the weight watchers plan...marvelous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is an incredibly good recipe to be low fat!! I used a Braeburn apple and used half whole wheat flour, too, to get the maximum low glycemic benefit. I also always preheat my muffin oven to 500 degrees and then turn to the baking heat when I put them in. Particularly with the whole grain products, this gets them crisp while the leavening has made them fluffy and puffy. People who say this is dry or not sweet enough are probably overcooking them. Using applesauce or vinegar-milk in lieu of apple or buttermilk will also decrease the sweetness tremendously and cause them to be drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
"Low fat" and "bran" don't have to mean flavorless, which these were, even though I tried adding more cinnamon as reviewers suggested. I recommend making the "Apple Strudel Muffins" instead, but a) replacing half the flour with oat bran, b) replacing the butter with applesauce, c) cutting the sugar in half, and d) adding a teaspoon of cinnamon. Voila! Low fat apple bran muffins that taste good, unlike these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Incredibly heavy and satisfying muffins, but the apple gets lost along the way. Here's my improvements: I add 1/3 cup flax seeds, 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1 cup diced apple, and substitute 3/4 cup applesauce for grated apple. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Delicious and very hearty! I used whole wheat flour, and I also increased the brown sugar to 1/2 cup instead of 1/4 (the weight watchers points is still 1 even with the extra sugar!). They were pleasantly sweet, although I could probably get away with using 1/3 cup. I also added some cinnamon, and used a whole apple chopped with the peel on istead of just a half. The extra amount of apple made these terrific! Next time I think I'll add a pinch of salt. I individually wrapped these and stuck them in my freezer, so I'm interested to see how they hold up! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This recipe gets 5* from me. Low fat and good, two things that are hard to combine. We like these muffins a lot, and they are only 2pts if you are following Weight Watchers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Made these several times now and found myself making a few changes. Added 1 tsp vanilla (I used the powder), a pinch of salt, 1 tsp. cinnamon, the other half of the apple, chopped (I used a Granny Smith so it wouldn't disappear into the apple when baked), a 1/2 cup dried cherry, cranberry, blueberry mix I bought at Sam's Club...and I had always used the water/dry buttermilk powder combination for the 1 cup liquid buttermilk until I read the review by RTR.MAR to use 1 cup apple juice with 4 tblsps dried buttermilk powder...very nice addition. Thanks much for listing this recipe Jenny!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
absolutely marvelous! I also used whole wheat flour. I substituted brown sugar twin and used applesauce, 1/2 cup for the grated apple. I also used the 1 t. vanilla and cinn. I did mix the applesauce in the batter rather vigorously. The muffins came out lighter then usual. Sometimes I sprinkle a little sugar twin on the top of the batter right before I bake them.I make them constantly and they fit right in my weight watchers program.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ABS140
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
I found these muffins surprisingly tasty considering the lack of fat (and relative lack of sugar). I added some raisins and cinnamon to mine, and that seemed to help give thema lightly spicy flavour. The bran makes them very fibrous, and they are much denser than regular muffins, but if you are on a diet these are great! ps, I wish i could try substituting apple sauce and dried buttermilk, but i'm from the UK and you can't buy those things over here! :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is a great low fat recipe, and easy to make but I found they are a little bland. I added 1/4 tsp of Nutmeg, 1 tsp of Vanilla as well as some raisins and Cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States