Low Fat Apple Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
A good alternative for health conscious snackers. Enjoyed these with a cup of coffee. Although I forgot to add the egg whites these were still good. My 20mth daughter also eats these for snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
For low fat muffins these are pretty good! I changed a couple of things. I added whole wheat flour instead of regular and added a tsp of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla. They are NOT sweet, as Jenny already said, so if you want sweeter add more sugar. They end up being 1 point on the weight watchers plan...marvelous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
absolutely marvelous! I also used whole wheat flour. I substituted brown sugar twin and used applesauce, 1/2 cup for the grated apple. I also used the 1 t. vanilla and cinn. I did mix the applesauce in the batter rather vigorously. The muffins came out lighter then usual. Sometimes I sprinkle a little sugar twin on the top of the batter right before I bake them.I make them constantly and they fit right in my weight watchers program.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
Excellent! My boyfriend ate all of them and has been asking for more ever since! I used applesauce because I had it on hand, and light cream because the supermarket seemed to be out of buttermilk. I sprinkled some brown sugar on the top too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Delicious and very hearty! I used whole wheat flour, and I also increased the brown sugar to 1/2 cup instead of 1/4 (the weight watchers points is still 1 even with the extra sugar!). They were pleasantly sweet, although I could probably get away with using 1/3 cup. I also added some cinnamon, and used a whole apple chopped with the peel on istead of just a half. The extra amount of apple made these terrific! Next time I think I'll add a pinch of salt. I individually wrapped these and stuck them in my freezer, so I'm interested to see how they hold up! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This recipe is great to have on hand because it's healthy -- I'm a former muffin/bagel addict, but when I started cutting calories I had to give my many of my breakfast favorites up. They're not pretty for guests or anything, but they're a great source of fiber, taste pretty darn good and store well/moist in a ziplock for over a week. I put raisins and cinnamon in mine, too, to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Great recipe! They were very moist and flavorful. I have to admit, I did alter the recipe slightly after reading other reviews, but nothing too drastic. I increased the sugar (which I think was probably a good idea), added a little cinnamon, and I made a double batch of the recipe, so I used one cup all purpose flour, and one cup whole wheat flour. I froze most of them and have been bringing out a few to thaw each evening. They are great for breakfast and snacks during the day. And despite what one reviewer said, I would have no problem serving them to company. . . they look just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Loved these! Changes made: added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, about 1/4 c. raisins. Instead of buttermilk, I used 4 tbsp dry buttermilk with 1 c. applejuice. great texture, moist with great apple taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
these muffins were bland by themselves but good with some honey. my batter turned out very thick and i had to add almost a cup more of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Made these several times now and found myself making a few changes. Added 1 tsp vanilla (I used the powder), a pinch of salt, 1 tsp. cinnamon, the other half of the apple, chopped (I used a Granny Smith so it wouldn't disappear into the apple when baked), a 1/2 cup dried cherry, cranberry, blueberry mix I bought at Sam's Club...and I had always used the water/dry buttermilk powder combination for the 1 cup liquid buttermilk until I read the review by RTR.MAR to use 1 cup apple juice with 4 tblsps dried buttermilk powder...very nice addition. Thanks much for listing this recipe Jenny!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States