Low Fat Apple Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
A good alternative for health conscious snackers. Enjoyed these with a cup of coffee. Although I forgot to add the egg whites these were still good. My 20mth daughter also eats these for snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
For low fat muffins these are pretty good! I changed a couple of things. I added whole wheat flour instead of regular and added a tsp of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla. They are NOT sweet, as Jenny already said, so if you want sweeter add more sugar. They end up being 1 point on the weight watchers plan...marvelous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
absolutely marvelous! I also used whole wheat flour. I substituted brown sugar twin and used applesauce, 1/2 cup for the grated apple. I also used the 1 t. vanilla and cinn. I did mix the applesauce in the batter rather vigorously. The muffins came out lighter then usual. Sometimes I sprinkle a little sugar twin on the top of the batter right before I bake them.I make them constantly and they fit right in my weight watchers program.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
Excellent! My boyfriend ate all of them and has been asking for more ever since! I used applesauce because I had it on hand, and light cream because the supermarket seemed to be out of buttermilk. I sprinkled some brown sugar on the top too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Delicious and very hearty! I used whole wheat flour, and I also increased the brown sugar to 1/2 cup instead of 1/4 (the weight watchers points is still 1 even with the extra sugar!). They were pleasantly sweet, although I could probably get away with using 1/3 cup. I also added some cinnamon, and used a whole apple chopped with the peel on istead of just a half. The extra amount of apple made these terrific! Next time I think I'll add a pinch of salt. I individually wrapped these and stuck them in my freezer, so I'm interested to see how they hold up! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This recipe is great to have on hand because it's healthy -- I'm a former muffin/bagel addict, but when I started cutting calories I had to give my many of my breakfast favorites up. They're not pretty for guests or anything, but they're a great source of fiber, taste pretty darn good and store well/moist in a ziplock for over a week. I put raisins and cinnamon in mine, too, to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Great recipe! They were very moist and flavorful. I have to admit, I did alter the recipe slightly after reading other reviews, but nothing too drastic. I increased the sugar (which I think was probably a good idea), added a little cinnamon, and I made a double batch of the recipe, so I used one cup all purpose flour, and one cup whole wheat flour. I froze most of them and have been bringing out a few to thaw each evening. They are great for breakfast and snacks during the day. And despite what one reviewer said, I would have no problem serving them to company. . . they look just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Loved these! Changes made: added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, about 1/4 c. raisins. Instead of buttermilk, I used 4 tbsp dry buttermilk with 1 c. applejuice. great texture, moist with great apple taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
these muffins were bland by themselves but good with some honey. my batter turned out very thick and i had to add almost a cup more of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Made these several times now and found myself making a few changes. Added 1 tsp vanilla (I used the powder), a pinch of salt, 1 tsp. cinnamon, the other half of the apple, chopped (I used a Granny Smith so it wouldn't disappear into the apple when baked), a 1/2 cup dried cherry, cranberry, blueberry mix I bought at Sam's Club...and I had always used the water/dry buttermilk powder combination for the 1 cup liquid buttermilk until I read the review by RTR.MAR to use 1 cup apple juice with 4 tblsps dried buttermilk powder...very nice addition. Thanks much for listing this recipe Jenny!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States