Low Fat Apple Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Very good! I used Pineapple and raisins instead of apples. They are delicious! YOu may want to add a bit of sugar or Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Great low fat muffins. I made the following changes. I added vanilla and cinnamon. I chopped the apples instead of grating them. I did not have buttermilk so I added a tablespoon of vinegar to 1 cup milk. It is true as other reviewers wrote the muffins are not very sweet, but I felt that they were sweet enough for a breakfast muffin. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
First time I dared to try bran muffins (let alone actually make them myself) and these are great! Moist and tasty - a nice change from the overly sweet, dry, non-bran quick mix kind you buy in a bag at the store. I'll happily make these again! (And other people liked them too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUHRAYCEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This recipe gets 5* from me. Low fat and good, two things that are hard to combine. We like these muffins a lot, and they are only 2pts if you are following Weight Watchers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
good, healthy muffins. although they are a little dry. i chose to add 1tsp of cinnamon and had to add an extra 1/8 of milk because the mixture was very biscuit-like. would be good with maybe some honey on top or coconut in the recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ABS140
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
I found these muffins surprisingly tasty considering the lack of fat (and relative lack of sugar). I added some raisins and cinnamon to mine, and that seemed to help give thema lightly spicy flavour. The bran makes them very fibrous, and they are much denser than regular muffins, but if you are on a diet these are great! ps, I wish i could try substituting apple sauce and dried buttermilk, but i'm from the UK and you can't buy those things over here! :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
These were very bland. Not much flavor. I did not add apples just applesauce. I am sorry these were just not for us. Maybe if you add a little sugar. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
These were pretty good, but mine came out a little dry. I used whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 tsp of baking soda, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 c. of diced apple, and 1/2 c. of all natural applesauce. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/3 c. of raisins. The apple taste did get lost, but the raisins were a nice addition. These muffins are GREAT for the added fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Incredibly heavy and satisfying muffins, but the apple gets lost along the way. Here's my improvements: I add 1/3 cup flax seeds, 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1 cup diced apple, and substitute 3/4 cup applesauce for grated apple. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
They're much too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States