Low Fat Apple Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Wouldn't make this recipe again. Although it was very healthy/low cholestrol, it lacked flavor even after I added extra sugar (splenda), applesauce, more chopped apple and a little cinnamon... a real disappointment. I made the "Classic Bran Muffins" recipe the week before with terrific results, so I recommend it before this one. NOTE: If you like in a warm climate, you'll want to store it in the fridge. My went bad after 3 days left on the counter under a glass cake dome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
These were terrific with a few changes: Used 1 tbsp. distilled vinegar in 1C of fat free milk in place of buttermilk (less calories and expense); used 1/2 C brown sugar (made them sweeter); used 1/2 C unsweetened applesauce in place of grated apple (made them more moist). Great basic recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETTY BOOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I really enjoyed these muffins! They make a quick and healthy breakfast on the go! I made a few of my own updates to the recipe: I used cake flour instead of all purpose and beat the egg whites & folded them into the batter to help make the finished muffin less dense. I also added 1 whole diced apple (instead of the grated apple), 1 tablespoon of maple syrup (to add a bit more sweetness), and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
no thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I used two apples and added a tablespoon of Splenda, but they still aren't sweet enough for me. Even with all that extra apple they weren't as fruity as I would have liked. If I make these again I might try adding some banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is an incredibly good recipe to be low fat!! I used a Braeburn apple and used half whole wheat flour, too, to get the maximum low glycemic benefit. I also always preheat my muffin oven to 500 degrees and then turn to the baking heat when I put them in. Particularly with the whole grain products, this gets them crisp while the leavening has made them fluffy and puffy. People who say this is dry or not sweet enough are probably overcooking them. Using applesauce or vinegar-milk in lieu of apple or buttermilk will also decrease the sweetness tremendously and cause them to be drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I eat these for breakfast, my husband just doesn't stop eating them! I increased the amount of apples to 2: one chopped, one grated--even better!! And they don't need a thing more--eat as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I used a 1/2 cup brown sugar and changed the bran ratio to 1/2 cup bran to 1 1/2 cup flour. I also added spices (all spice). I also used 2 whole eggs instead of egg whites. Maybe a little less healthy, but I felt that the bran/flour ratio made the muffins a little too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
These didn't have a lot of flavor in them but I didn't expect any so I was quite pleased.As a low-fat snack these are quite good.The only problem for me was that they were stuck to the papers and it was inpossible to get them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kecius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
These were great! I added some cinnamon and vanilla because I love the way they smell when baking, but they also help bring out the natural sweetness of the bran and apple (which I chopped instead of grated). I also sub.ed 1/2 cup of oats for 1/2 cup of the flour just for kicks. ;) Even my younger sister who turns up her nose to anything healthy loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States