Low Fat Apple Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These were great!! I made a double batch and made 12 large muffins instead. The only changes I made were 1/2 white flour, 1/2 wheat flour, and adding raisins and chopped walnuts. Very moist!! Def. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I used frozen blueberries instead of the apple. Muffins came out great, very healthy tasting and enjoyable, good for breakfast snack...not sugary, some people may want to add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
They are a little bland, even after adding a tsp. of vanilla and cinnamon. I used 1 whole egg instead of 2 egg whites. I also added raisins for some more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
These were great! Moist and tasty and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is a great low fat recipe, and easy to make but I found they are a little bland. I added 1/4 tsp of Nutmeg, 1 tsp of Vanilla as well as some raisins and Cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I have loved almost all recipes that I have made off of this site and these were not one of them. Dry sawdust muffins with not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These were incredibly moist and I know they are incredibly healthy. I threw in some frozen blueberries and that was a nice touch. Very nice for a quick breakfast. I loved mine with some jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWMolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
With some adjustments this could be 'the best!'. Here's what I did. I grated a carrot added that to the recipe also I added a tablespoon of baking powder so it would puff up more instead of resembling a hockey puck. I terminated the sugar, I mean it no sugar and if you bake this try 15 minutes extra but if you don't try refrigerating over night so they don't become mush. I used peaches instead of apples and a word to the wise when you cook with peaches peal them because in my muffins (I didn't peal them) there are strange occurances or spots that have a bluish, purplish nature. Not the most appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I did make several changes to this recipe but I gave it a 5 because I felt it was a great base recipe. I was looking for a low fat muffin and this one had simple instructions and minimal ingredients. I didn't have wheat bran so I used Oatmeal, I also didn't have buttermilk, so I used vinegar and skim milk. I added a whole apple and for extra flavour I also added a small applesauce, maybe 1/2 a cup. I also read some other reviews I added some vanilla, some cinnamon, and some nutmeg. They did have to to bake for the full 19 minutes because of the extra liquid, but turned out fabulous. The are not sweet a lot but that didn't take away from them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States