Low Carb Zucchini Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Delicious! I salted and re-salted these and let them sit for a few hours while doing other things in the kitchen. I put them on a cookie cooling rack over a sheet pan so the water could drip out. I turned them and salted again. I squeezed all the extra water out with paper towels. I didn't rinse them as instructed. I I felt like that would make them wet again. I hand grated the parmesan and used nutritional yeast instead of ground almonds -not quite a half cup. My oven had been on a long time so it was nice and toasty. These came out perfectly! A delicious low carb craving satisfier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecags

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
My family requested to have these again. They loved them! The only thing that I need to figure out is how to make them a little more firm. They got kind of soggy and they stuck to the pan so the crispy bottoms came off and stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made these for dinners with pizza, and loved them. I'm a big fan of zuchinni, and this was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeenCookingLovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
If you are seriously counting carbs, pay attention to the recipe servings listed. This recipe is for 6 servings, so one serving would only be 3/8ths of a zucchini for 4.5 grams of carbs. Great recipe for those of us on Atkins who are missing fried junk food...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This recipe was good, but wasn't quite what I expected. In my opinion the herbs were too much, I am going to cut down on them by 25% or so next time. Or maybe even use fresh herbs instead of dried. It's possible I did something wrong as I did bake about 5 minutes longer than specified here (my oven is weak and often takes longer), but all the herbs came out very bitter tasting. If you are a family who has always raised your children on health food options like these, (assuming you don't mess the herb taste up like I did) your kids will probably like these just fine. This is not however, a recipe to offer children who are being slowly moved into healthier eating. It clearly tastes like something meant to be healthy. I thought the breading came out crispy enough, I actually enjoyed the texture. Someone commented that the breading sticks to itself better than the zucchini and my comments to that would be 1) make sure your zucchini is drained well enough and 2) makes sure you give the egg a moment to drip off before dipping into breading. It sticks to itself because it becomes too infiltrated by the egg. I had this problem near the end when the constant dipping had transferred quite a bit of egg into the breading bowl. Overall I personally liked it, but I will use fresh herbs next time if they are available to me or cut down on the dry. I will also add a little more parmesan, and slice a little thinner to get a more thoroughly crisped outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Will make this again! I left some pieces when chopping the almonds, and glad that I did, as it added a little more crunch to the fries. I added a little Old Bay and some garlic powder as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Very good, would definitely make again. I think the key is letting the zucchini drain for about an hour. I also tranferred them to a paper towel. I ground almonds in my coffee grinder and it worked great. You need to eat them right away as they aren't good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Haycraft
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
We are low carbing to shred a few lbs. and these were great. I had Almond meal on hand so used it instead of crushed almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious. But do have to make sure they drain for an hour. We can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
These are fantastic... actually addictive like real fries. The trick is to make sure they are coated well and put them on a rack then on a cookie sheet so they are crispy. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States