Low Carb Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia McIntosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Too bland. I followed the recipe as written, and it doesn't have much flavor. It definitely needs something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shikadance
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Like another reviewer said, this recipe is really a good base that you can then customize to your own taste. Like others suggested, I added a can of Rotel. I used hot Rotel with habeneros. For the cheese, I used Pepper Jack. I shredded the squash rather than dicing it, which gave it a texture like a hash brown casserole. The almonds are a really great and unique addition to the recipe. However, I used them only on the inside of the dish. For the topping, I used panko breadcrumbs and a few dabs of butter. You don't need to use a lot of breadcrumbs to add the texture, so you can still keep it relatively low carb even with this addition. Overall, this was a really good recipe base that is easy to play around with. I love it and it will be a go-to recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
To fool the youngsters and picky eaters, I shredded the squash instead of cubing (which also speeds up cooking). I browned the garlic and onion, added the squash and seasoning. I also subbed pepper jack cheese to blend the colors- further masking the deception of feeding them a vegetable dish. Next time, I'd rather use 2 cups of cheese and substitute whole milk for the cream so that the fat content remains nearly the same. I also plan on mixing dijon mustard in with the egg and milk, adding celery salt instead of plain salt and putting the roasted almonds and cheese mix on after it comes out of the oven. It was a little bland, but with a few extra personal touches is a great way to eat squash. My girls said it was great! This also would make a great breakfast casserole if you wanted to crumble sausage in with the onions and substitute hash browns for the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Yummy! I have been doing a low carb diet the last few months and this a great new recipe. I followed the other reviewers recommendation about the Rotel. It was a great addition! The only other change is that I used raw almonds for the topping instead of roasted. The almonds add a nice crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I tried this recipe and it was a big hit! My boyfriend is watching his carbs so I looked up low-carb dishes. We both love squash. I cooked as is. I have to say the prep time was longer for me. I'm considering buying the diced squash to save prep time. He would prefer the almonds not be in there. Otherwise, he told me not to change a thing! I was wondering what (that I can use again) can replace the whipping cream. Not only did he ask for seconds, he asked for the recipe! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This is a great tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol28
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
We loved this just as recipe is written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quantumdetective
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I did a vegan version of this using Daiya Swiss cheese, soy creamer and cornstarch as egg replacer. It was so delicious, well worth the prep time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I've made this casserole twice and it rocks the house! Its a really great side if you're trying to cut down on carbs but have gotten sick of steamed broccoli. The first time I used evaporated milk in place of the cream but the cream sure does make it richer! I don't recommend leaving out the almonds as they really give this a unique texture that make it something special. Both times mine came out looking like the picture submitted by csread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stilwell, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States