Low Carb Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I followed the directions in this recipe with the exception of 1) using a mix of yellow squash and zucchini, 2) using my Paderno to cut the squash into "noodles," and 3) adding diced, cooked chicken, making this an all-in-one casserole. I loved the texture the almonds gave to the dish! It was a delicious, fresh tasting entree for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Bird teach
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Excellent! Only added a can of rotel to squash while sautéing . It added a ton of flavor! Will make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Great Recipe! I didn't have fresh garlic so I used some garlic salt. Didn't use almonds. I used a can of CREAM OF CELERY SOUP, with half can of skim milk in the egg/cheese/squash mixture. After spreading in the baking dish I topped with FRENCH'S FRENCH FRIED ONIONS and THEN topped with some shredded cheese. DEEELicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I cut the almonds in half, used yogurt instead of whipping cream, and parmesan for the cheese. I also increased the butter and oil to 2 tbs apiece. Great idea for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This recipe is awesome!! What an ingenious solution to the typical mushy squash casserole using boiled squash. I didn't have whipping cream, but used sour cream & milk as suggested in another review. Really liked the almond topping & LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the texture. Thanks for a fabulous recipe Tigray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Loved the recipe... I was reading the reviews first and saw that Bird teach added rotel... I love rotel with chiles so I did the same, it was delicious!!!!!! My husband who is a food critic... Lol also thought the dish was awesome!!!! Colton221
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
So good. Shredded the veggies. Used carrots,onions and zucchini. Used feta cheese instead. The almonds were delish. Ate too much but at least it is healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made this for a family get together. Everyone loved it even the young ones! Followed recipe to a T except for using a Tex Mex blend of cheeses which added a bit more flavor but honestly, didn't really need it. The crunch of the almonds was fantastic. Having made it once, I will definitely make again. It's very adaptable, and will try varying with differnent cheeses ( gruyere comes to mind) and more heat now that the young ones aren't around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe with pepper Jack cheese, with a topiping of Parmesan , with eggplant , with Zuccini,as a main dish, as a side dish and on and on. No matter what I do with it it is delicious. A great go to dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Delish! I'm really not a squash fan, but this was soooo so good, I had seconds! I didn't have any cream so I used 1/4 c. skim milk and 1/4 c. nonfat Greek yogurt, which really gave it a creamy taste and more protein. I also didn't have onions, so I used half a large shallot and lots more garlic. Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States