Low Carb Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was an easy to make, filling, and delicious recipe. I have 3 children (2 of which are wrestlers trying to cut weight, so balancing meals can be a chore) and all 3 said that it was a keeper with no leftovers in the pan. The only thing I did differently was omit the green peppers because I find that they sometimes have an overpowering flavor, used the cajun spice to my family's flavor, and really put my own twist on the serving suggestions for the quantity of meats to add. Used smoked sausage instead. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I have made this on the stovetop and in my slowcooker. Here are a few things I do to get the calorie count even lower. Replace olive oil in butter with Butter Flavor Pam and I Can't Believe It's Not Butter. Replace andouille sausage with Hardwood Smoked Chicken Kielbasa and also add turkey sausage. I also use a mix of both white and dark meat chicken to add variety. Also since I am not crazy for shell fish, I use about half of the shrimp just for the fish flavor it brings in. This is so easy to make, leftovers freeze well and it tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The recipe is great but, when I change the servings and add it to my recipe box it always comes out in the original size serving. Can I do anything about this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I live in New Orleans where jambalaya was born. If you are on low carb diet I suggest you also put in it brown rice. All Jambalaya is cooked with rice always. sometimes pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
There are some very good flavors that get destryoed with the cajun seasooning and hot sauce. We don't use them. Besides the seasoning in the sausage, all we use is salt and pepper. A little basel and pineapple sage is also very good in this dish. We also add onions, cut back on the bell peppers to 1 and add about 4 jalapeno peppers (seeded and devaned, get all the white out.) We really like the flavor of the jalapeno peppers. We are also carrot lovers, so a couple of carrots get added too. It makes a very wonderful meal enjoyed by all of my family, and some neighbors kids too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
awesome recipe. i only did about half the ingredients to feed 2 and it was still way more than enough. im gonna enjoy the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is my first time to review a recipe since joining your website, though we have enjoyed many delicious meals, snacks, salads and desserts from allrecipes. My husband is absolutely crazy about this dish. He praises my cooking whenever I serve it. I have substitued some red bell pepper, when short of green peppers, used extra garlic or garlic powder, and added a bag of frozen okra to it as we like okra.I usually serve it over a small amount of brown rice. It is definitely a keeper, and one we will enjoy often. Thank you Morgan for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I loved this! I saved this recipe for times when I want an interesting low carb meal but happened to use it when I had family members over. I made it exactly according to the recipe but threw in some rice I had cooked separately at the end of the cooking time because of my company. Everybody thought it was delicious! The flavors were complex and balanced. The heat level was noticeable and almost on the edge for those who aren't accustomed to spice; for those of us who are, the heat was perfect - tantalizing, yet did not compete with any other flavors in the dish. I am looking forward to trying this again and I won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Awesome recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and everyone came back for seconds! My husband has asked me to make this again three times already and it has only been a week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was my first time making Jambalaya. I added brown rice(yum) and only used 1 bell pepper and 1 large zucchini. I use a little extra crushes tomatoes and chicken broth. Amazing!!!?? Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Low-Carb Jambalaya

See how to make a tasty, meat-filled jambalaya without all the carbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States