Low Carb Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jdawson4993
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Love this option as a low carb dessert. You MUST use a food processor to mix all ingredients. Any other method will leave a slightly gritty texture. My husband loves this recipe. For a true restaurant style cheesecake double recipe and use spring pan. Our favorite low carb topping is cutting up sugar free strawberry jello and mixing in with the creamy cheesecake. Not a great photo as someone ate a few pieces too soon ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made this for a surprise My girlfriend is dieting and she is working so hard to change her eating habits I thought I would make her a treat It had to be sugar free. This is not the best cheese cake on the planet but REALLY GOOD using the original ingredients Thank You LBR8 PS If there others out there that aren't experts like some.. I found an old fashioned potato masher works well for mixing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
These are the steps to eating this cheesecake , 1. take a bite and savor 2. pinch yourself to make sure that you are not dreaming 3. gobble the rest down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was a terrible cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Rarely do I post a very negative review, but (1)this isn't a good recipe, & (2) it's a horrible choice for people eating LC. To start, a cheesecake is, by definition, mostly cream cheese--one package doesn't cut it. Some have ricotta, but in a smaller proportion to the cream cheese. Why flour? I've never seen flour in a cheesecake recipe (except some crusts, but that isn't the case here). The addition of APF, even in a small amount, while calling this "low carb" is laughable. I just have to ask: why bother making any recipe if it doesn't taste good? Good news! You can have your cheesecake, and eat it too while sticking to LC. Anyone serious about LC should know that it works best when aim for low carb, high fat (yes, that's right), and moderate protein. The basic tenet of LC is that dietary fat doesn't make us fat (or unhealthy). Yes, some fats are worse than others, but attempting to reduce/eliminate fat is counter productive. Furthermore, low fat products are generally higher in carbs than the full fat versions. There are many LC cheesecake recipes online that are outstanding (look beyond this site). I'm proud to say that I made an LC lemon cheesecake (nut crust, sour cream topping, and lemon curd on top of that) and I've lost a couple of pounds in the 3 days since. Bottom line: There's no need to deprive yourself on LC, but cheesecake shouldn't be a staple your diet either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I recommend a change in formula. Why use ricotta? In the 1960's it was possible to get a "smooth" cottage cheese, and I used to make a very simlar cake with that, which everybody loved. I've discovered that you can smooth out cottage cheese with curds if you have a good, strong blender. So I recommend this: use a quart container of cottage cheese, 1 cup of low fat sour cream or Greek yoghurt, 3 egg whites, 1/2 cup granulated Splenda, and either lemon zest or vanilla to flavor it. You can add the tablespoon of flour or not, as you prefer. It does help the cake stiffen a bit better. Blend all the ingredients thoroughly in a blender and pour the batter into a deep pie plate and bake. When the cake is close to being done, at about 45 minutes, you can add a topping of 1 cup of sour cream stirred up with 2T Splenda which you spread carefully over the semi-soft cake with a spatula, returning the cake to the oven for another 15 - 20 minutes. The sour cream topping is very nice, and some people might want to double the layer and bake it an extra half hour. Personally I prefer cheesecake without a crust, so I haven't experimented with how to make one without carbs. We would rate our own low fat, low carb cheesecake as five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Had this for my birthday, last month ( my sweety made it for me ), and I was very pleasantly surprised with it tasting so close to how my moms used to! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My low carb version based on this recipe was basically cutting the ricotta in half and replacing the other half with greek yogurt. For a crust at the bottom I used whole wheat flour mixed with cinnamon, nutmeg, splenda, and melted butter. I also replaced the all purpose flour with sugar free pancake mix. (worked very well and cut carbs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I modified this recipe; used "regular" everything (Carbs are my thing) except the sugar, used the Splenda "sugar blend". Also, I made a crust using 4-graham crackers & 2 T melted butter; added 1-T lemon juice and lemon zest (per another review). I also used another suggestion and blended it in a blender. It turned out delicious, creamy texture, light and fluffy...per my diabetic tong! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I used full fat EVERYTHING in the recipe, as I am only concerned about carbs-it was still almost unfit to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States