Low Carb Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My low carb version based on this recipe was basically cutting the ricotta in half and replacing the other half with greek yogurt. For a crust at the bottom I used whole wheat flour mixed with cinnamon, nutmeg, splenda, and melted butter. I also replaced the all purpose flour with sugar free pancake mix. (worked very well and cut carbs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I modified this recipe; used "regular" everything (Carbs are my thing) except the sugar, used the Splenda "sugar blend". Also, I made a crust using 4-graham crackers & 2 T melted butter; added 1-T lemon juice and lemon zest (per another review). I also used another suggestion and blended it in a blender. It turned out delicious, creamy texture, light and fluffy...per my diabetic tong! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I used full fat EVERYTHING in the recipe, as I am only concerned about carbs-it was still almost unfit to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
It tasted very fat free- not good! I make MUCH better- try this if you want almost carb free, with fat: 3 (8oz) blocks cream cheese- softened 1/4 cup sour cream whip until fluffy and add any artificial sweetener to taste. Beat 1 minute then add 2 eggs and continue beating til mixed. Add 2 tsp vanilla. Pour/scoop into (lined) muffin cups and bake 25 minutes at 350. Chill thoroughly before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This recipe left me wanting more, but not more cheesecake. The texture was off. It just didn't taste like cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I found this recipe when I was looking for a dessert to use up a carton of ricotta. I did not use fat-free sour cream or cream cheese and I mixed the filling in my food processor. The texture came out pretty good but don't expect it to taste like cheesecake. Overall, a good "everyday" dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This can be a very satisfying desert for low carb eaters if made with a few adjustments. I never use fat free dairy except milk because the flavor is bad. So I used lowfat cream cheese and sour cream for this, same amount. I added a few tablespoons of fresh lemon juice and lemon zest of one lemon. You MUST I repeat MUST put all ingredients into a blender or food processor and pulse for a few seconds to smooth the ricotta. I let all the ingredients set in the refrigerator for a few ours as well to get more flavor and I followed the advice of one reviewer and made a crust of sugarless nilla cookies crushed and splenda and crushed almonds for the crust, I mixed with melted trans fat free margarine and packed into the bottom of the pie plate before pouring in filling. Very good!! Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Disgusting! I followed this recipe exactly as it is written & I thought it was horrible. A waste of time & money.It didnt tast or look like cheesecake & was very gritty. I am a pretty good cook so it was definately the ingedients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This is a perfect "fix" for dieters and low-carb eaters/ I made a different version not using ricotta, and the texture is wonderful. Instead of ricotta AND fat free cream cheese, I used 16 oz of fat free cream cheese and 1/2C fat free sour cream. The rest of the ingredients exactly the same. And 1/2 C graham cracker crumbs for crust, but that's probably not low carb. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calatta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
My fiance and I are both on low-carb diets and we absolutely loved this cheesecake. I baked it in my toaster oven and it only took 45 minutes. I tried pouring a little kahlua on a piece and the cheesecake soaked up the delicious coffee flavor. It would be good with fruit on it, too. I am serving it for Easter dessert this year, and no one will know they are eating low-carb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States