Low Carb Cauliflower Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I wasn't able to find leeks (tried 2 different stores and both were out of leeks) so I just used onions. Also, I don't have an immersion blender so I ate my soup a little chunky. Otherwise, made it exactly as written. Turned out delicious. Great for low carb diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MakeupSuzy
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Followed directions with a few adjustments. I used two smaller heads of cauliflower that I roasted with olive oil and a few cloves of garlic. One head was blended up and the other added to the soup in smaller florets. I took the suggestions of a few other posters and added a touch of curry, paprika and garlic powder. Whoa .... So yummy!! I wish I had a dollop of sour cream for each bowl! A definite winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I agree that 8 cups of broth is too much - I prefer a thicker soup. I also cut back on the fat by only using the olive oil, and instead of cream I blended in a package of silken tofu for texture and protein. I also roasted the veggies for 30 minutes to add some depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Delicious! I'm on a 3-day green smoothie "cleanse" - ? not really sure it's a cleanse though, and am so sick of green smoothies. I made this recipe to get something more savory, with the following adjustments to keep it super low-carb / low-fat: - no oil, no butter. Just steamed the cauliflower and leeks in a bamboo steamer until ready - no cream - 3 c. veg broth - forgot the garlic! doh! - added salt, pepper, cayenne - after blending, added finely chopped parsley on top Thanks! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
A delicious low carb soup. We have to put the cream (sometimes we use half and half) or we don't care for the flavor, but mixing it in makes for an amazing creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malevolentmuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I made this soup for dinner and followed the directions EXACTLY. I did not substitute anything. As is, this soup was AWESOME. My husband loved it. My 5 and 7 year old gobbled it up. I'm definitely making this again. Now I have leftovers for work tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is my favorite fall soup! I make it exactly as the recipe calls for, but I don't add the cream. It's a very forgiving recipe and super easy to make. Sometimes my carnivorous husband likes to sprinkle bacon crumbles on the top, but I prefer mine with a little extra pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My 8 year old who only eats carrots likes this soup! I was generous with the salt, and used 1.5 cups of 18% coffee cream in place of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This recipe was outstanding! I followed the review of Matthew F from 2009 and added Garam Masala, the Indian spice, crushed red pepper too. I also broiled my cauliflower with a chopped shallot, and added a sweet onion to the leek mixture. With the salt, pepper, crushed pepper and garam masala, it was very flavorful and I possibly didn't need the cream, but....I ended up adding 1/3 to 1/2 a cup of Light cream and it definitely enhanced the end result. I even threw a few homemade croutons on top for garnish and still kept it low-carb. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I just tried this recipe today, I had some high hopes after reading all of the reviews on it. I was a little weary about it being bland and gritty but to my happy surprise I was blown away. THIS SOUP IS AMAZING!!! Simple, hearty, and scrumptious! All I had on hand was chicken bouillon instead of vegetable broth and it really gave it an awesome flavor. This soup has a very pleasant smooth consistency, and would be perfect for a healthy lunch or a side for dinner. I will definitely be making this a repeat in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States