Lover's Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Interesting. I followed the recipe exactly. I did not like it at all. However, my husband loved it! He said it was the best meatloaf I have ever made. I just finished baking it and he can't stop eating it and talking about how good it is. To each his own I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Totally missed the part about it making 2 loafs. So I ended up with one HUGE meatloaf, where one slice equaled two servings. We've been eating this out of the freezer for the last 4 months. The texture was too soft for us. Next time I'll use 75% beef and 25% pork. The taste was ok but nothing special. I have a love/hate relationship with red wine so that may be it. I also use onions, celery and bell peppers in my meatloaf with a splash of Open Pit BBQ sauce. I like the idea of a stuffed meatloaf but I need to tweak this recipe to my family's liking. I'll try it again for the next family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Like the concept but not the ingredients. Bland. If I make again, I'll use pork sausage, plain ham, and seasonings......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lele23
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I thought this recipe was fabulous!!! I used pork sausage instead of ground pork and ham instead of prosciutto. Although, I would've used more cheese OR tried to seal the ends a little better because the cheese oozed out the sides. The flavor was delicious, but I do think I would add minced garlic next time. Also pictured, Baked Mushroom Rice, from allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Would have given five stars if all the juices didn't dry out and burn up at the bottom of the broiler pan. Next time I'll keep a better eye on it and add water twice while cooking. This recipe is a keeper. Only made minor additions to enhance the flavor: For the pork part, I used hot pork sausage and flavored the meat with my Puerto Rican sofrito, sazon and extra garlic. I didn't have provolone on hand so I used sliced white American cheese (don't cringe, it was yummy) I didn't find the need for flouring the plastic wrap it worked just fine without. I sauteed the spinach with onion slices and garlic. My ridiculously picky 5 year old thought it was great so that's a win in my book! Served with rice pilaf and steamed veggies. Will definitely be making this again and again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
To me, this was very "thick" and salty tasting. The ham layered into it, plus the sausage made it soo salty, it was hard to eat. I would have added rice to it next time so the texture wasnt like a board. The presentation was amazing, but its not about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I am on the fence with this recipe. I do not know why any oil was added to the outside of the meatloaf. It made my meatloaf dry and hard on the outside. I did add some minced garlic and onion flakes and basil for flavor, but I think something was missing. Made meatballs with the remainder instead of another loaf. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was pretty good. I had to add more seasonings, and it was a bit tricky to roll, but once I figured it out it was smooth sailing. I like how pretty it looks, and this doesn't make too much, so it's a good dish for a couple of people. Thanks for the recipe1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Love this loaf! I wanted to make a special dinner for my boyfriend and this was perfect. Easy, full of flavor, and it looks very impressive. Served with wild rice, a nice salad, and Malbec to drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is one of my nine year old favorite dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States