Lover's Beef Burgundy Filet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Sorry, I hate to "rain" on Penelope's receipe, but for all of the prep required for this, I can only say it's average. I always use the finest cuts for all tenderloin receipes but could get the same results with several less time consuming preparations. For this to be a " magic love potion", it requires a couple of Martini's before dinner. Again, not bad, but not worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
Absolutely incredible! This is the BEST steak I have ever had. I made this for a romantic meal for my husband and myself with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. He (ever the meat-and-potatoes man) was in heaven. Babs--oyster sauce is a thick, brown sauce that would either be in the condiment or Asian food section of your grocery (I had to ask for help finding it in my mid-sized grocery, but they had it.) 'Dynasty' was the name of the brand I found. You can also get it online. (3/3/2006) I'm still making, and LOVING, this recipe, and I just wanted to add--the marinade freezes beautifully, so I make the full batch of marinade and freeze half of it (as I've never made it for 8 people). Also, my latest addition to the meal is putting sliced baby Portobellos in the marinade (just dip them and then take them out, the marinade soaks in QUICKLY) after I remove the steaks. Saute them with a little marinade until tender and serve on top or on the side of the filets. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Moyle Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Very good but I found the wine taste a little overwhelming. It could be, perhaps, because I marinated it overnight. Also, could someone please tell me what "oyster sauce" is? Is it thick, thin, red, clear? My supermarket had never heard of it and even when I called an oyster company, they couldn't tell me what it is. The best the gal could recommend to me was clam juice so I used that. Perhaps that had something to do with the flavor, but it certainly didn't ruin it. Will make again if I can find oyster sauce and will not marinate so long. THANKS AMANDA!! I'LL TRY TO FIND IT AND GIVE THE RECIPE A TRY ONCE AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
My boyfriend, definitely a meat eater, said this was the best recipe I've made for him (so far!). Very easy, simple, but absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
This is awsome! I found that this recipe makes a lot of marinade so I buy extra meat and place the meat in a freezer bag with the marinade and freeze it until I need it. I comes out great! This is the only way that we eat steak now!! I am so glad that I decided to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I tried this marinade for valentines day.. since I had not used it before I marinated a small lower priced piece of steak first to taste test..(the oyster sauce made me a little nervous) but it was great so I continued with the fillets for my dinner party. They were very good but I don't think I will use it again.. you could taste the red wine .. but it just didn't have the kind of tantilizing flavor I was hoping for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
No need to go to an expensive steak house when you can make just as good of a steak at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
This marinade is fantastic! I highly recommend this dish. I made it for my "lover" and he declared, "We never have to go to Morton's again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Incredible! This was an excellent recipe. My only comment is that I wish the person who listed the recipe would have indicated whether it's red or white burgundy wine. Also, in the supermarket I could only find oyster "flavored" sauce which was in the oriental aisle. I'm not sure whether this was the correct product, it was very thick. I used the red burgundy and this oyster "flavored" sauce and it turned out fabulous. So, I assume that I guessed right with the wine and sauce. I would recommend using a little less canola oil for the sauce because it really doesn't seem that necessary. And I didn't use the grill but rather broiled the fillets. I highly recommend everyone try this recipe, the flavors are incredible. We had the fillets with frozen shoestring fries. The sauce over the fries was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States