Lover's Beef Burgundy Filet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
A seductive recipe, which we've made for three special occasions so far. I did reduce the amount of oil in the marinade to 1/2 cup, rather than the 1-1/2 cups noted in the recipe. Being oil-conscious is probably a bit silly, given the fact that this is filet mignon, after all, and it's slathered with delectably decadent burgundy butter...but cutting out a cup of oil does make the marinade a bit stronger. A nice, long, overnight marinade works well to let the fantastic marriage of flavors develop. Like a good seduction, it's worth the wait. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I am puzzled about the fuss about this recipe..we didn't find it did anything special to the meat, or the taste. Will never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Can anyone tell me what I could substitute for the oyster sauce??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I made this for my fiance on Valentine's Day, and he is still raving about it! There is something about this combination of flavors that we both just love. And the butter on top really makes this dish exceptional!!! Thanks Penelope!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I thought this was good although I have had better and it is expensive and time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This is the most incredible recipe! It's a bit time consuming and pricey, but SO worth it! You will definatly have a mate for life if you make this! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I know this is a bold statement, but this is probably the best steak I've ever had, at home or from a restaurant. I used the oyster flavored sauce, and it worked great. I marinated the filets overnight, and I did not think the flavor was overpowering! Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I made this for my partner on Valentine's day,and he has been raving to everyone about his dinner. I'm not much of a cook but it was simple & fantastic! I'm not a big fan of red meat, but the taste is simply devine, so juicy, I have never had anything like it and best of all - I made it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
An excellent steak recipe. I made this for my girlfriend on Valentine's Day and it was excellent. I broiled the steaks instead of grilling them outdoors as they recommmend. Also, I used less oyster sauce than the receipe recommended, mainly because the bottle I had bought was too small. But it was excellent! It is not hard to make, regardless of what other people said, and I found that the marinade in no way overpowered the meat. Excellent! (And it really works!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I would have rated this a one- or two-star recipe, but my husband liked it enough to rate it as a four, so I'm averaging our ratings. I marinated the beef for the five hours the recipe called for, and the taste was entirely too strong for me -- it masked the beef taste entirely. My husband, who likes steak sauce, likened it to beef with the steak sauce built in. If I ever decided to make this again, I'd marinate it for only an hour or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States