Lover's Beef Burgundy Filet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I made this for my fiance on Valentine's Day, and he is still raving about it! There is something about this combination of flavors that we both just love. And the butter on top really makes this dish exceptional!!! Thanks Penelope!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I thought this was good although I have had better and it is expensive and time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This is the most incredible recipe! It's a bit time consuming and pricey, but SO worth it! You will definatly have a mate for life if you make this! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I know this is a bold statement, but this is probably the best steak I've ever had, at home or from a restaurant. I used the oyster flavored sauce, and it worked great. I marinated the filets overnight, and I did not think the flavor was overpowering! Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I made this for my partner on Valentine's day,and he has been raving to everyone about his dinner. I'm not much of a cook but it was simple & fantastic! I'm not a big fan of red meat, but the taste is simply devine, so juicy, I have never had anything like it and best of all - I made it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
An excellent steak recipe. I made this for my girlfriend on Valentine's Day and it was excellent. I broiled the steaks instead of grilling them outdoors as they recommmend. Also, I used less oyster sauce than the receipe recommended, mainly because the bottle I had bought was too small. But it was excellent! It is not hard to make, regardless of what other people said, and I found that the marinade in no way overpowered the meat. Excellent! (And it really works!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I would have rated this a one- or two-star recipe, but my husband liked it enough to rate it as a four, so I'm averaging our ratings. I marinated the beef for the five hours the recipe called for, and the taste was entirely too strong for me -- it masked the beef taste entirely. My husband, who likes steak sauce, likened it to beef with the steak sauce built in. If I ever decided to make this again, I'd marinate it for only an hour or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
The marinade has an unusual flavor due to the oyster sauce which is very good; the steak comes out very flavorful. I like oyster sauce very much (used extensively in Chinese cooking) however it does contain MSG so be forewarned as many people must avoid MSG added to food. My husband really enjoys this. I would recommend scaling the recipe way down if only making 2 or 4 steaks as it yields a whole lot of liquid. I also think the added butter/wine topping for serving, while adding a very rich buttery sauce, can be easily ommitted. To cool the liquid down faster, I put it in the freezer for a short time, and I also don't marinade longer than an hour or two max as I find the flavor becomes too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Sorry, I hate to "rain" on Penelope's receipe, but for all of the prep required for this, I can only say it's average. I always use the finest cuts for all tenderloin receipes but could get the same results with several less time consuming preparations. For this to be a " magic love potion", it requires a couple of Martini's before dinner. Again, not bad, but not worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
Absolutely incredible! This is the BEST steak I have ever had. I made this for a romantic meal for my husband and myself with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. He (ever the meat-and-potatoes man) was in heaven. Babs--oyster sauce is a thick, brown sauce that would either be in the condiment or Asian food section of your grocery (I had to ask for help finding it in my mid-sized grocery, but they had it.) 'Dynasty' was the name of the brand I found. You can also get it online. (3/3/2006) I'm still making, and LOVING, this recipe, and I just wanted to add--the marinade freezes beautifully, so I make the full batch of marinade and freeze half of it (as I've never made it for 8 people). Also, my latest addition to the meal is putting sliced baby Portobellos in the marinade (just dip them and then take them out, the marinade soaks in QUICKLY) after I remove the steaks. Saute them with a little marinade until tender and serve on top or on the side of the filets. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Moyle Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States