Lover's Beef Burgundy Filet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I must say, after reading all of the reviews about how good this is, I was pretty disappointed. It was OK, just not worth a 1/2 bottle of wine and almost a whole bottle of oyster sauce... (I halved the recipe). I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLEAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This recipe lives up to the "hype". I made this for an anniversary dinner with my fiance and we both LOVED it. I highly recommend making this dish for someone you love, the best way to a man's heart is truly through his stomach and this is the right ammunition :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
OMG! Yummy! We made this last Christmas Eve, and will do so again this year. Thanks so much for this delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Wonderful. It was great! I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Outstanding! We scaled this down to 4 steaks. We used low sodium soy sauce and used only one stick of softened butter instead of the canola oil. We served this with a side of egg noodles that I had tossed in a touch of evoo. I boiled the marinade and then spooned this over the steaks and noodles on the plate. This was a delicious meal and I will make again soon. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Very good, I overmarinated it the first time and left the filets in overnight and they absorbed too much of the wine and didn't taste like steak at all anymore. I've since used it on several different cuts of steak and marinated it only 5 hours and they turned out terrific. Family requests it now and even my picky 8 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARARNMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Extremely good flavor! Best steak I have ever had. My kids even loved it and raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEBURKEBROOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Excellent recipe. I took the leftover marinade in a saucepan and added cornstarch and cooked the mushrooms in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Excellent! Easy to prepare. I did not use Filet Mignon though. I halved the marinade portion of the recipe and placed the steaks and marinade in a ziplock bag and refrigerated them over night. This is definitly a recipe to use to for a special occassion or to impress someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: California, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I made this for Valentine's dinner and it was delicious. My husband could not stop raving about it. I did the filet's in the broiler instead of on the grill, and they turned out fine. I'll be making this for other special occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States