Lover's Beef Burgundy Filet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This recipis is extrodinary. I had a special evening planned with my wife and I wanted to surprise her with a nice romantic dinner at home. This weas the perfect recepie. I followed it exactly using a good merlot. I cooked up some roasted new potatoes to go with it, and sauted some portobella mushrooms and shallots with some of the left over marinade. To finish it off, I took the remainder of the marinade and reduced it down to a nice dipping sauce. Everything turned out great and the flavors were incredible. WONDERFUL RECIPIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavvyTech
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this last night and it was delicious. I could kick myself for not taking a picture though. I followed the recipe almost exactly except we didn't have any charcoal so we put the tenderloins in the oven on broil (approx 500 degrees) for about 7 minutes on each side. I let them rest for another 10 minutes before dolloping the butter on and placing them in the 200 degree oven. They came out perfect -pink inside but not too pink. (The tenderloins I used were approximately an inch thick) My husband and daughter both loved this recipe. I served the steak with garlic mashed potatos and steamed asparagus. I will make this recipe again but next time I promise to take a picture. Thanks, Penelope Holmes for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
We loved these steaks! The yummy compound butter made the whole recipe for us. Make it for someone you already love since you'll both have serious onion-shallot-garlic breath after (and you won't even mind because this recipe is that darn good!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Absolutly WONDERFUL. My husband and I like to get filet mignon for special ocassions and I havent found a marinade that I liked until now. I will definately be using it again. Only change I made was with the butter. I was scared to put that much pepper in it as I am not a big pepper fan. I just cut the amount down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I am only giving this one four stars because I made it exactly according to recipe and it wasn't as good as expected or as other reviews stated. I would make this again, but it's a lot of work for something that doesn't make you go 'MMMMMMMMMMMMMM...'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I have made this for Valentines Day twice now three years apart, the first time I was able to get Filet Mingnon and it was scrumptious!! The second time I wasn't able to get the Filet Mingnon and the butcher suggested New York Strip as a substitute cut of meat, we were let down. . . the flavor just wasn't there, even after three years we could tell it wasn't as good as the first time and I made it exactly as the recipe reads did not change a thing. I will definetly make this again but ONLY if I can get the Filet Mingnon steaks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I used top sirloin steaks instead of the filet mignon, and marinated them for seven or eight hours. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
These is something magical about these steaks. I used ribeyes because I could not find qood quality filets at my store. I reserved the marinade to make a quick pan sauce for the steaks to give diners a choice. I sauted 1 cup of sliced mixed mushrooms in butter, then removed the mushrooms, and added the marinade, reducing to 1/2 (you might need to add 1 tsp of cornstarch to aid it) and added back in the mushrooms. Many of my guest put both the mushroom sauce and the butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Excellent taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I was turned on to this recipe 4 years ago. It was AWSOME. I made it again a few years later and it was not so good. I pondered the difference in the two occasions and determined it was the freshness of the Filet. The first time I was working at a Steak House and brought some home, the second time, I went to my local grocery and picked up some mass produced pre packaged "filets". Don't skimp on the ingedients, you get what you pay for. Yes, play with the time marinated, but not the ingredient. Use real butter, use real Burgundy. A $10 to $12 bottle works fine. If you want something different, if you are looking for something different, then Keep Searching for something different. This is a very good meal, don't change it and then say it wasn't that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States