Lover's Beef Burgundy Filet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was simply delicious! I followed the recipe to a "T", with the only exception being the type of steak. We chose to use 6 thick cut strip steaks instead of the filets, and everyone kept showering me with positive comments on how they enjoyed dinner (especially the steaks). Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babette G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I really enjoyed the flavor of this steak. I didn't add the extra butter on top, just too much extra fat for me. Served with Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Very good. Used only about 1/2 or 1/3 of marinade. Very nice taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
The flavour of the wine really came through the steak. I replaced the shallots with garlic in the butter & found the wine didn't mix into the butter properly. Overall a tasty & easy to prepare steak but just didn't quite live up to my expectations given the good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Very good! Definitely will make again and recommend others to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This is definitely worth the time and effort involved in making this steak. It's without a doubt the best steak I've ever had. One thing extra I did was to cook the marinate after I removed the steak from it and I thickened it with corn starch in a little bit of water. It makes an excellent gravy to drizzle over the steak when you plate the meal, or you can toss some on sauteed mushrooms and cook for a few minutes as a nice side to go with the steak. I even drizzled some of the sauce over the baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I cooked this for my Husband recently on Valentines Day. We loved it!!!!! My mouth waters just thinking about it. I used scotch fillet steaks and a good Aussie cabernet merlot, for the marinade. We cooked this for friends last weekend and they now have the recipe too! Thanks so much :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Living In: Esperance, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Perhaps I'm just not a fan of the flavor on this one. Twice now I've made this recipe and have not been pleased with the results, despite the fact that I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This recipis is extrodinary. I had a special evening planned with my wife and I wanted to surprise her with a nice romantic dinner at home. This weas the perfect recepie. I followed it exactly using a good merlot. I cooked up some roasted new potatoes to go with it, and sauted some portobella mushrooms and shallots with some of the left over marinade. To finish it off, I took the remainder of the marinade and reduced it down to a nice dipping sauce. Everything turned out great and the flavors were incredible. WONDERFUL RECIPIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavvyTech
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this last night and it was delicious. I could kick myself for not taking a picture though. I followed the recipe almost exactly except we didn't have any charcoal so we put the tenderloins in the oven on broil (approx 500 degrees) for about 7 minutes on each side. I let them rest for another 10 minutes before dolloping the butter on and placing them in the 200 degree oven. They came out perfect -pink inside but not too pink. (The tenderloins I used were approximately an inch thick) My husband and daughter both loved this recipe. I served the steak with garlic mashed potatos and steamed asparagus. I will make this recipe again but next time I promise to take a picture. Thanks, Penelope Holmes for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States