Lover's Beef Burgundy Filet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
We found the taste of the marinade too salty and we found it overpowered the meat's flavour altogether even if we are usually pretty big on salty foods. The flavour of the marinade didn't really please us either, we couldn't really taste the wine. Perhaps using these ingredients in smaller quantities would be pleasing. The meat was obviously tender, but then again, if you are eating filet mignon, it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
When I started making this, I was not too sure about it. I do NOT like burgundy wine at all and that is a main ingredient, but my husband was dying to try it so I made it and OMG it was WONDERFUL. It was so tender it melted in my mouth. My husband asked for it again the next day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
absolutely wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Wonderful! I made these for company and they were a hit. May cut down on the ammount of sauce next time but this gets a 5 star from me. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Fabulous! It turned out great - my husband LOVED this marinade and is looking forward to it again. (I will take the recommendation to make a bigger batch and freeze extras.) Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca in Oregon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Almost perfect! Will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Ooh la la! My husband and I made this last night and we loved it. We paired the filets with the roasted garlic mashed potatoe recipe by Barrett and a good bottle of syrah. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Mixed reviews on this. My husband, our two sons and I didn't care for it. Our oldest daughter did. I definitely prefer a bourbon based marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
One of the best meals I've ever made! Ladies will keep you for sure after tasting this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Yau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
this recipe is ok. kinda a waste of a great peice of beef. we scaled it down to 2 servings and it was still lots of merinade for 2 filets and 8 oz of shrooms. the flavor was ok not great the mushrooms had good flavor. would we make it again probably not we'll stick to s & p and let the great flavor of the beef speak for itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millertime

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States