Lover's Beef Burgundy Filet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Sorry, I hate to "rain" on Penelope's receipe, but for all of the prep required for this, I can only say it's average. I always use the finest cuts for all tenderloin receipes but could get the same results with several less time consuming preparations. For this to be a " magic love potion", it requires a couple of Martini's before dinner. Again, not bad, but not worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
Absolutely incredible! This is the BEST steak I have ever had. I made this for a romantic meal for my husband and myself with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. He (ever the meat-and-potatoes man) was in heaven. Babs--oyster sauce is a thick, brown sauce that would either be in the condiment or Asian food section of your grocery (I had to ask for help finding it in my mid-sized grocery, but they had it.) 'Dynasty' was the name of the brand I found. You can also get it online. (3/3/2006) I'm still making, and LOVING, this recipe, and I just wanted to add--the marinade freezes beautifully, so I make the full batch of marinade and freeze half of it (as I've never made it for 8 people). Also, my latest addition to the meal is putting sliced baby Portobellos in the marinade (just dip them and then take them out, the marinade soaks in QUICKLY) after I remove the steaks. Saute them with a little marinade until tender and serve on top or on the side of the filets. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Moyle Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Very good but I found the wine taste a little overwhelming. It could be, perhaps, because I marinated it overnight. Also, could someone please tell me what "oyster sauce" is? Is it thick, thin, red, clear? My supermarket had never heard of it and even when I called an oyster company, they couldn't tell me what it is. The best the gal could recommend to me was clam juice so I used that. Perhaps that had something to do with the flavor, but it certainly didn't ruin it. Will make again if I can find oyster sauce and will not marinate so long. THANKS AMANDA!! I'LL TRY TO FIND IT AND GIVE THE RECIPE A TRY ONCE AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
My boyfriend, definitely a meat eater, said this was the best recipe I've made for him (so far!). Very easy, simple, but absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
This is awsome! I found that this recipe makes a lot of marinade so I buy extra meat and place the meat in a freezer bag with the marinade and freeze it until I need it. I comes out great! This is the only way that we eat steak now!! I am so glad that I decided to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I tried this marinade for valentines day.. since I had not used it before I marinated a small lower priced piece of steak first to taste test..(the oyster sauce made me a little nervous) but it was great so I continued with the fillets for my dinner party. They were very good but I don't think I will use it again.. you could taste the red wine .. but it just didn't have the kind of tantilizing flavor I was hoping for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
No need to go to an expensive steak house when you can make just as good of a steak at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
This marinade is fantastic! I highly recommend this dish. I made it for my "lover" and he declared, "We never have to go to Morton's again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Incredible! This was an excellent recipe. My only comment is that I wish the person who listed the recipe would have indicated whether it's red or white burgundy wine. Also, in the supermarket I could only find oyster "flavored" sauce which was in the oriental aisle. I'm not sure whether this was the correct product, it was very thick. I used the red burgundy and this oyster "flavored" sauce and it turned out fabulous. So, I assume that I guessed right with the wine and sauce. I would recommend using a little less canola oil for the sauce because it really doesn't seem that necessary. And I didn't use the grill but rather broiled the fillets. I highly recommend everyone try this recipe, the flavors are incredible. We had the fillets with frozen shoestring fries. The sauce over the fries was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States