Love the Mama Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Many of the four or five star ratings for this recipe are only after the reviewer made significant changes. A perfect recipe should be spot on accurate and not need doctoring with amounts of ingredients, the ingredients themselves, pan sizes or baking times. While I agree with a lot of the changes made, they are no longer reviewing THIS recipe. As this recipe stands it is, first, too short on filling for this size pan. Most lemon bar recipes, however, do call for a two egg filling for an 8x8 pan, or a four egg filling for a 9x13 pan. This recipe also calls for powdered sugar in the filling, which I've never seen. I don't think it would be enough given the amount of lemon juice called for. So as written, I believe this recipe has some problems and only merits three stars. I made this in a 9x9 pan, although an 11x7 is fine too. I made the crust as written but made a couple of changes on the filling. I made 1-1/2 times the filling recipe and used regular, granulated sugar instead of the confectioners' sugar called for. I baked the crust 15 minutes at 350 degrees, and then another 15-20 minutes once the filling was added. The tartness and sweetness were just right and there was a better balance of crust to filling. I did observe, however, that I much prefer lemon bar recipes that call for a little flour in the filling as opposed to baking powder. All and all, a nice altered version of this recipe, but I'd much prefer a recipe that required no revision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made these in a 6x2 round pan for thicker lemon filling and added more powdered sugar and lemon juice-the recipe is very good, the crust is delicate and like the author states, great for tea. If you want thicker bars, stop complaining and just double the recipe. I mean, its so simple you can tweak it anyway and still get a good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by College_Caker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
i was wondering if anyonw knows the expiration date on these.. how long it will last in the fridge?? thank you for your help..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This mama was NOT happy. I made a single batch of the crust and a double batch of the filling, as several reviews stated. When I poured the filling over the hot crust, it looked thin but I had faith. I baked them up and was SADLY disappointed. Very thin, hardly ANYTHING there. I used a 9x13 pan, which is why I doubled the filling, and 2x the filling MIGHT have worked in an 8x8 pan. The flavor was there... but definitely double the recipe, half the crust and use the smallest pan you have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Great flavor, but the filling is VERY skimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. I make it all the time, and eat at least half of it myself. I always double the filling, but other than that follow it exactly. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Do not make these. It was all crust with no lemon. I even doubled the lemon and it still was not enough. Follow the recipe on this website for "Best Lemon Bars."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I did not care for this.....Turned Out All Wrong.....:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
it was amasing. But you really should double the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
These were good but I think that the next time I make them I well double the lemon filling. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States