Love the Mama Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
These were ok, but I wouldn't make them again. Too much crust and not enough lemon topping. Didn't taste like I hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elbow Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
for lemon bars they were very good. I did double the filling for the bars so they were a little more substantial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
yum!! easy to make and very tasty..I made mine in a 8x8 pan and it worked wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULI42298
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
very lemonly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This recipe is a great standard. For all the people who have been critical, I find it unwarranted. Obviously, the pan suggested will produce a thin bar (as pictured). A smaller pan will yield thicker bars. It is absolutely perfect for coffee/tea as the recipe states--if you want a dessert, make them thicker and therefor more substantial. I find it unfair to rate this recipe poorly, it is very good, and the results turn out exactly like the photo and as stated in the author's description. Excellent recipe that turns out exactly as described by the author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Made these last week and they were eaten up pretty quickly. These are only the second lemon bars I've had in my life and I'm not super fond of lemon, so take my rating lightly. =3 I did like them though, but I would prefer a gooier topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whittysx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These are the best lemon bars I have ever served. My family has never been a fan of lemon flavor, especilly in bar form but they ask for these treats constantly. A big hit at my house and worth a try by all who read these reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
A lifetime recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I was lkioooking for a lemon bar recipe & came upon this so thought ok, I'll try this......I an't really say this was one of my better baking experiences. The crust I found was terribly hard to spread out in a smaller pan other than the 11X7 that was originally mentioned. I followed the recipe exact exxcept for doubling the lemon topping to make sure there would be enough filling. Results..unflaky crust..extremely very very thin bar, & hardly enuf to call desert..I can usually give the recipes a pretty good raiting but sorry not this time around. Thank you for your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Many of the four or five star ratings for this recipe are only after the reviewer made significant changes. A perfect recipe should be spot on accurate and not need doctoring with amounts of ingredients, the ingredients themselves, pan sizes or baking times. While I agree with a lot of the changes made, they are no longer reviewing THIS recipe. As this recipe stands it is, first, too short on filling for this size pan. Most lemon bar recipes, however, do call for a two egg filling for an 8x8 pan, or a four egg filling for a 9x13 pan. This recipe also calls for powdered sugar in the filling, which I've never seen. I don't think it would be enough given the amount of lemon juice called for. So as written, I believe this recipe has some problems and only merits three stars. I made this in a 9x9 pan, although an 11x7 is fine too. I made the crust as written but made a couple of changes on the filling. I made 1-1/2 times the filling recipe and used regular, granulated sugar instead of the confectioners' sugar called for. I baked the crust 15 minutes at 350 degrees, and then another 15-20 minutes once the filling was added. The tartness and sweetness were just right and there was a better balance of crust to filling. I did observe, however, that I much prefer lemon bar recipes that call for a little flour in the filling as opposed to baking powder. All and all, a nice altered version of this recipe, but I'd much prefer a recipe that required no revision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States