Love Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Such a great gift idea and it makes a Sunday afternoon meal in a jiffy! Just add whatever you have in the fridge plus a few basic items and you have dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Gave this soup mix to my newly-wed sister. She said it came out a little like Hamburger Helper. Might suggest a little more water for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I enjoyed making and giving this soup mix. It makes a great, coloful gift and from what I hear, it tastes pretty good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
While I have yet to taste this soup, it turned out really well in the jar. It's going to make a great gift. It was fun to make, easy to follow the directions, and LOOKS AWSOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This was AWESOME!!! It tasted just right. It will make great presents!Defanatly A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is great! Instead of using quart size jars I bought 24 pint size jars, cut the recipe in half and followed the recipe. I then made 24 really fancy tags and attached them with a beautiful ribbon. I am giving these as party favors at a bridal shower I am throwing in a couple of weeks. Everyone who sees them just falls in love with them. I may have an easy inexpensive gift for next Christmas!! O and by the way I bought all the ingredients at a Bulk shopping center and it ended up costing me only .85 each!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRAZYKEL028

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This was a very easy project for Christmas gifts. I had one left over and made it for dinner. It made the kitchen smell wonderful, but it was somewhat flat in taste. I would add some beef broth and seasoning salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
This was YUMMY! I made it with a bit of lean ground beef. I found 4 T of beef bouillon to be just right with 12 cups of water. I also added 1 T of salt-free garlic herb seasoning. I plan to make it to give as gifts. In order to make it a bit cheaper for my budget, I plan to package it in cellophane gift bags and reduce the amount of the ingredients slightly. The soup was pretty thick, so that should be fine. I was worried about the "twist macaroni" and skipped that in favor of Adzuki beans. They added a nice red color since I couldn't find red lentils. I used a lesser amount because they are expensive. I can't wait to give these as gifts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This soup is so good and makes you feel like a great chef even if it's your first batch of soup! It works well with ground beef or with another cut of meat. The only problem I had was after it cooled, the rice, barley, and pasta kept absorbing the liquid! It made one big lump of soup! Kind of more like a gravy or a stew. So when i went to reheat it, I had to add more water--it was good the 2nd time too but just not as "pretty" as the first time! LOL Definitely good flavor though!! And a pretty mix of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
This makes the prettiest presentation in a jar! I gave this as gifts this year. I split the lentils in half and used half green lentils and half red lentils. It was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States