Love Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This recipe looked really pretty in the jar, but wasn't the best taste. It had way too many starchy ingredients that overpowered the soupiness. It needs more vegetables or something. Don't think I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made several jars of this recipe for friends this Christmas. I didn't have time to taste-test so I was a little nervous, but I have gotten rave reviews from everyone! I packed the soup in Christmas jars I got from the dollar store and local secondhand stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGRAY450

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arizona, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Should be called a STOUP.... it's a nice thick soup/stew... Taste is amazing!! And even better the next day!!! :D One of my favorite soups! Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Used this as teacher gifts for Christmas-switched the beef bouillon for tomato (in the Mexican section of the store) to give a nice red color for the jar. Recipients who have made it say "yummy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
What a great gift idea for my hipster friends with empty pantries! I used vegetable bouillion to accomodate the vegetarians, and cut the amount slightly, but a great idea, and I'm sure it will be a well-received gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I tried this recipe before giving it as a gift. The macaroni was overdone and the tri-color pasta was undercooked. I had to cook it a lot longer to get the tri-color pasta to cook at all. My husband ate it, but I couldn't stomach it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a great dish. The children loved it as well as the hubby!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This will be a part of our gift giving again this Christmas. I customised it for my husband's men's bible study partners last year and remained it Brotherly Love soup. It made a great gift. Try processing dried tomatos with the seasoning in a food processor. The resulting seasoning mix can be pressed into a circular cake and used as a layer in the jar. This year I plan to further modify the seasoning mix to include freeze-dried refried beans and "tex/mex-ify" the herb blend. I'll add dehydrated corn and black beans to the dried lentils etc. My hope is to turn out a southwest chili-style version and rename the outcome Sopa Agape Noche Buena (Holy night brotherly love soup) or something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I have made this soup and presented as gifts for many years. It is always a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I received this jar and just made it. It was so good that I was hoping to find the recipe and there it was on my favorite website allrecipes.com. I added carrots and celery (what I had in the frig). It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States