Love Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ida Luck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
this was easy and great-and we didn't even have enough tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Great way to jazz up regular red sauce by sauteeing the capers, shallots, and garlic first. The red pepper flakes gave it a terrific kick. I used pre-cooked, frozen mussles that made the recipe even easier and still delicious! So quick and easy and still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kathleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Barnard
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I live on the ocean, and went snorkeling for the mussels... so they were wonderfully fresh and HUGE! I served this over angel hair pasta, and the broth was absolutely super! I am not sure what all the fuss about debearding mussels is.. we just yank them off when we pluck them off the rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barnard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I always eat mussels out but this was the first time I made them and they were absolutely delish! I did not have capers but added just a touch of salt and added in some fire roasted peppers. I took a chance, we had company over and made this dish, I got many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This recipe is amazing! The only thing I'm wondering about is how do you get 4 servings out of 1lb of mussels? The only size I can get is 2-2 1/2 lb basket. So, I did a little tweaking. I kept the amounts relatively the same. More onion & garlic coz that's the way I roll. To up the volume I added a 1/2 cup of diced tomato I had left over from dinner last night & a cup of white wine that I'm drinking right now. It smoothed out a little. Interesting how twice the recipe was just enough for me & my boyfriend. The recipe was a huge success. Thanks ever so much KitchenWitch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaemc2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was just awesome! I made a couple of tweaks...barely tweaks, actually :). I didn't have scallions, so left them out. I was also out of tomato sauce so used a pint of fresh grape tomatoes, just mashed. I also didn't have fresh mussels...hmm, a shopping trip soon, perhaps? lol. I used frozen on the half shell mussels, instead. The end result was SO DELICIOUS!. I served it over some thin pasta and the juices just wrapped themselves around every strand. This will be a go to meal again and again. Thanjks for the recipe! I also didn't have any italian seasoning, so just sprinkled some basil, oregano, salt and pepper. Truly, one of the best meals I've cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These were great and absolutely delicious. I found when I made them there was not a lot of sauce, not sure if it was me or the recipe. Next time I may try to make extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
First time making it! It was a hit! I doubled the recipe, and did add 1/4cup white wine to the tomato sauce as well as pork (just for flavor). I didn't really taste the red pepper, so I would add more if you like the "kick"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was delicious, we had never made mussels before and were nervous but it turned out very well. The hardest part was just making sure the mussels were still alive and debearding them, otherwise it was a very easy and delicious recipe. I especially like that it did not require any strange ingredients that I would just end up having to throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States