Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Thank you for this recipe! It was super easy and tasty. And, the pancakes were not heavy gut bombs, so that was extra nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Changed the flour out to 1 cup AP flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. Also added 2 tbl. wheat germ and 1/4 cup sugar since we'll be eating these plain. Only 1/4 tsp nutmeg, too. Ended up adding 1.25 cups mashed sweet potato, maybe could do more? Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLH201

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Taste was fantastic. I added a teaspoon of Pumpkin Pie spice. I ended up having to add more milk to thin it out a tad because the first one was too thick and burned. Over all very good, nice way to use sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Delicious! The consistency of the batter was a little off for me, but these delicate cakes are excellent with real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
It is tuff to beat our homemade buttermilk pancake recipe, but these come really close!! My family loved them. I substituted buttermilk for the milk (had to add a bit more), which made them a great alternative, especially in the fall & winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I added more milk and they still were too thick.... They did not cook all the way through unless I almost burnt them... At least the dog liked them, when I turned around the entire plate was eaten off of the counter.... wont make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Made this to re-purpose a sweet potato casserole..This was totally easy to make. I ended up using about 3/4 cup of casserole to accomendate 3/4 lbs of actual sweet potatoes. I liked it very much but added a little more nutmeg and a tsp of cinnamon. While everyone else said they were fine....the rest of the clan went for the fluffy pancakes and the strawberry chip pancakes over these...I loved them. I really loved the flavor and so did my middle child. Paired it with Cinnamon Syrup and like I said...I loved them but they got passed up....I guess my company wasn't soo adventurous as myself. I'd recommend them to others easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Great recipe. I peeled the sweet potatoes before boiling, just because that seem easier IMO. Also, to suit our tastes, I decreased the nutmeg to 1/4 t, and added in a 1/4 t of cinammon. This recipe made 13 pancakes for me--I guess I must make them a little big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made this recipe as it was presented. It was really good! However, next time I think I'll add a little something extra to it because I felt like something was missing. Thanks, Swizzlesticks! Your recipe came on time when I was looking for something different. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I was a little disappointed in these. It got good reviews and I love sweet potatoes but they were pretty much flavorless. After we added maple syrup they were a little better but not worth the work. I'm undecided on whether or not I'll give them another try but most likely I'll just make regular pancakes and add some spices to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States