Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
New favorite! I substituted 1 cup while wheat flour and 1/2 cup rolled oats. They never did fully cook in the middle but they didn't taste raw. I didn't mind it at all. I also baked the sweet potatoes instead of boiling. Top it with creme fraichethat has a bit of maple syrup and cinnamon mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
YUM! First I used a non-stick pan with oil. They really stuck to the pan. So switched to a Revere Ware pan and used spray oil. And flattened the pancakes a bit. This worked like a charm. They were so good! Will definitely make these again. Thanks for such a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I really liked these. We all thought they were the best pancakes I ever made. I partially subbed whole wheat flour and added spices and sugars. I used two leftover baked sweet potatoes I had already. I did not have a problem with a doughy consistency. I used another reviewer's suggestion of spreading out the batter in the pan with the back of a spoon. I had more success making them smaller rather than larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I thought these were okay but my boyfriend loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and mine turned out mushy -- like eating mashed sweet potatoes with syrup on top. Not bad if you're expecting mashed sweet potatoes, but we were expecting pancakes. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I love making these. I do follow other's advice about cutting back the butter and nutmeg and adding vanilla and cinnamon. I also use whole wheat flour for about 1/2 to 3/4 of what the recipe calls for. Great way to sneak in veggies for the little one too (2 yr old daughter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T. The end result: there is waaaay too much baking powder in this recipe. Even after I put honey AND maple syrup on it, all I could taste was the baking powder, more so than the sweet potato. I like the idea of a sweet potato pancake, and I'm going to continue looking for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartleeshy
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I loved these! They were actually the best, most mouth-watering pancakes I've ever eaten! I halved the recipe, I didn't have any nutmeg so I didn't add that and I added 1/4 tsp of Allspice, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract. Also, I used canned sweet potatoes (not the kind that come pre-seasoned) and they still tasted amazing! The batter is very thick so I smoothed them onto the griddle with the back of a measuring cup. And I topped them with homemade streusel topping! I will DEFINITELY be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made these as written, they are a good way to use up sweet potatoes and a change of pancake type. They were dense but did cook all the way through (read other reviews.) I cooked them slowly to make sure they cooked through. Can taste the nutmeg pretty strongly. Couldn't actually taste much sweet potato though. Next time I would find a way to make them fluffier- buttermilk or separate eggs and whip the whites. And, cut the nutmeg and add cinnamon. But, a good way to add some extra fiber and health to pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States