Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
They taste great and are so much more filling than traditional pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I also microwaved the sweet potatoes, added 1 teaspoon cinnamon instead of nutmeg, and 2 teaspoons of vanilla. Everyone raved. I served them with a Pecan Praline Syrup. Everyone loved them and had several requests for the recipe. My sons even requested them for Christmas breakfast this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These were great! I wouldn't do the boiling thing again tho. I just throw them in the microwave. It's alot easier. Plus I used cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made these for dessert, and the leftovers I had for breakfast. Wonderful with butter and a cinnamon-sugar mixture sprinkled on top. You could use this recipe with squash, pumpkin, or carrots, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
These were very dense and filling. I added a little vanilla and brown sugar. I think next time I'll use yams (for the orange color) and add chopped pecans or walnuts. We didn't have maple syrup, so my boyfriend put a little whipped cream cheese and rasberry jam on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
What a great idea!! I can't believe I haven't made these before! I made a few alterations and probably will again the next time I make them. I used sweet potato puree from Trader Joe's (saved a TON of time) and used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of regular. The batter was very thick and didn't "lay" on the hot pan so I increased the milk to at least 2 cups if I wanted any movement on the pan. I also subbed in cinnamon for the nutmeg and added about 2 tsp vanilla (yum!). I also cut the salt in half (I can always taste it in pancakes). But one word of advice: note that the finished pancakes are EXTREMELY moist due to the milk and s/p. So I ended up burning several of mine thinking they weren't done yet :P They were, but the pancake does not develop the firmness of a traditional pancake. When done, it even "gives" when you press on it. And it will not "bubble" nearly as much as a regular pancake, too, so check it sooner than later to flip. Since there is no sugar in the batter, you have a bit more freedom to have fun with the toppings. But I just topped it with some organic whole milk french vanilla yogurt. My kids loved it! It looked like icing! :) I may put in a 1/4 cup sugar next time and just top with butter (they are super tasty and don't need much!). But overall, I will definitely be making these again...way healthier than regular pancakes and a fun treat for the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I used three smallish sweet potatoes and that seemed to be about right. I followed the recipe exactly and tast tested. After that I added almost 1/3 cup sugar, couple dashes cinnamon and some chocolate chips to the batter. My kids loved them. Oddly enough, they tasted a bit like french toast. Very good and a little healthier than regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
What a GREAT use of potatoes. I used yams instead of sweet potatoes (because that's what I had). My children are DEMANDING "more pancakes mommy!" I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
These pancakes were great. Even good without any syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These were great start. I made a few modifications, by adding flax seed to the mix. They have become our standard breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States