Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I THINK THE RECIPE SUBMITTER INTENDED FOR PEOPLE TO USE 3/4 LB. OF SWEET POTATO WEIGHED AFTER COOKING THEM, but she didn't write that, and I went by the recipe as written. I couldn't get these to cook through. The only thing I changed was to add a bit more spice. I cooked them for twice as long as I usually cook pancakes, and on a hotter griddle, but they came out gooey and inedible. Next time, I'll add a T. of sugar to the wet ingredients. And I'll separate the eggs and beat the whites until they make peaks. I'll use less milk to make them less wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Very good! I was looking for a potato pancake recipe to use with some leftover sweet potato mashers I had and I thought this would be perfect. I didn't add the melted butter because my leftovers already had butter in them, and a bit of sour cream. I used raw coconut oil to cook them and they were delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
These were delicious and much like pumpkin pancakes. I made a few alterations, as previous posters recommended. I cut the nutmeg in half, added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 cup crushed walnuts and used applesauce instead of butter. I recommend smoothing these out so they are thin, as my four were a little too thick and gooey in the middle. I also microwaved the sweet potatoes for 10 minutes to cut down on prep time. Yummy! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I did alter a little because my batter was super thick. Added another 1/4 milk, 1/2t vanilla and some cinnamon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I loved these! They have just the right amount of spice and are a great way to use up leftover sweet potato. Thanks for sharing this recipe- I will be making them again as soon as I have some sweet potato around. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very delicious and very filling! A great recipe to add to one's recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Wow! My new go-to pancake recipe! Used my mixer for the wet ingredients. Then added dry to that. So moist and flavorful. Off to go enjoy mine now that kids are filled up! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachgirl
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Thank you for this recipe! It was super easy and tasty. And, the pancakes were not heavy gut bombs, so that was extra nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Changed the flour out to 1 cup AP flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. Also added 2 tbl. wheat germ and 1/4 cup sugar since we'll be eating these plain. Only 1/4 tsp nutmeg, too. Ended up adding 1.25 cups mashed sweet potato, maybe could do more? Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLH201

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Taste was fantastic. I added a teaspoon of Pumpkin Pie spice. I ended up having to add more milk to thin it out a tad because the first one was too thick and burned. Over all very good, nice way to use sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States