Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I added more milk and they still were too thick.... They did not cook all the way through unless I almost burnt them... At least the dog liked them, when I turned around the entire plate was eaten off of the counter.... wont make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Made this to re-purpose a sweet potato casserole..This was totally easy to make. I ended up using about 3/4 cup of casserole to accomendate 3/4 lbs of actual sweet potatoes. I liked it very much but added a little more nutmeg and a tsp of cinnamon. While everyone else said they were fine....the rest of the clan went for the fluffy pancakes and the strawberry chip pancakes over these...I loved them. I really loved the flavor and so did my middle child. Paired it with Cinnamon Syrup and like I said...I loved them but they got passed up....I guess my company wasn't soo adventurous as myself. I'd recommend them to others easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Great recipe. I peeled the sweet potatoes before boiling, just because that seem easier IMO. Also, to suit our tastes, I decreased the nutmeg to 1/4 t, and added in a 1/4 t of cinammon. This recipe made 13 pancakes for me--I guess I must make them a little big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made this recipe as it was presented. It was really good! However, next time I think I'll add a little something extra to it because I felt like something was missing. Thanks, Swizzlesticks! Your recipe came on time when I was looking for something different. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I was a little disappointed in these. It got good reviews and I love sweet potatoes but they were pretty much flavorless. After we added maple syrup they were a little better but not worth the work. I'm undecided on whether or not I'll give them another try but most likely I'll just make regular pancakes and add some spices to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Absolutely phenomenal. I made it just as directed except half the butter and they were perfect. Drizzled a little honey on top and it was about the best pancake I've ever had (granted I'm a big sweet potato fan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wakipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
These were moist on the inside, a bit crispy on the outside and had a great flavor. We enjoyed them with maple syrup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Thank you Swizzlesticks for a delicious recipe. We altered just slightly for our tastes and it came out fluffy and delicious. We already had a jumbo sweet potato that was roasted the night before, so we pureed that and it weighed a little over 15 oz, so almost two cups. We added 1 T of brown sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the wet ingredients. We used a combination of whole wheat flour and white flour (1 cup of ww and 1/2 cup of white). We substituted 1/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and 1/4 tsp cinnamon for the nutmeg. Delicious and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was fantastic! I did some modifications, but couldn't have done it without the initial recipe. Since I have to eat low fat, I replaced the butter with plain greek yogurt (nonfat), and used 1/2 cup oats for 1/2 cup of the flour. I also added 1 tbs pumpkin pie spice instead of the nutmeg. When cooking, if the batter is thick just spread it out with the back of a spoon or ladle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I added 1/4 cup of shredded coconut and 3 tbsp brown sugar, and served them with cinnamon butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States