Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Yummy! I did alter it a bit - it was breakfast time and I was missing ingredients. I did the whole wheat & oatmeal combo suggested elsewhere (1 c. & 1/2 c. respectively). And then I didn't have enough milk so I used Greek yogurt mixed with milk - about 50/50. It was thick so I added more milk. Also I had started the potatoes in the microwave (another recipe) so I finished cooking them that way. It was easy to just scoop and one less step and pan to wash. Did all the wet stuff in my mixer and then added the blended dry stuff. They did turn out very wet/dense but we thought it was a good texture. So I don't know how it should have tasted but it was yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
These were delicious. They weren't great the first time I made them but that was my fault; I added too much sweet potato. Follow the measurements and you should be fine. I made a few variations my second time: I added cinnamon, vanilla extract, and pecans. The pecans add an amazing touch. Even better when topped with honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Excellent! For those that thought they didn't cook through, follow the directions. These are NOT regular pancakes! You have to use only 1/8 cup batter on med-low heat, or they will be gooey and raw. And 1.5 pounds of sw. potatoes was perfect! That's about 3 med. sized sw. potatoes. I mixed up the batter the night before and it was so easy in the morning. Delicious with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
We had leftover baked sweet potatoes, I'm so glad I found this recipe so I could use them up! I shredded them instead of mashing. Then we had some light coconut milk to use up, about 3/4 cup. So I substituted some of that for regular milk. Then added cinnamon and vanilla as other reviewers suggested, and cut back on the butter. Heavenly! Who needs syrup, these are great plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I think these would have been very good if they had cooked through! I made them as the recipe states and was not able to cook them enough so that the centers weren't doughy. I turned the heat down to low and squished a few really flat and was able to get something edible, however they were more like sweet potato flat cakes at that point... I will be looking for other recipes and seeing if I can get a sweet potato pancake to turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe except I couldn't get the pancakes to cook all the way through no matter all long I kept them on the griddle. I tried spooning smaller portions but the center was still doughy. Any ideas on why this could have happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Delicious! I started to mash the potatoes, but they were still a little too firm for me, so I added the milk to the potatoes and put it in the food processor. That worked really well. I also couldn't find my nutmeg, so I used cinnamon and added 1 tsp pure vanilla. They were sweet and fluffy. My brother added syrup to his but I tried mine first and loved them without! I'm thinking about making more sweet potato/ milk mixture and freezing it so the next time I want these pancakes it will go much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
We made this recipe and they tasted great. We live in the Nashville area and I will go ahead and say that they were as good as Pancake Pantry. We also made the cinnamon syrup recipe from the this site and it was a awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nisismom
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This recipe is a keeper. Amazingly light and fluffy. I can't figure out what the people who said how dense they were and how they didn't cook did. The 3/4 pound of potatoes WAS confusing to me. I used a cup of mashed sweet potatoes (nothing added to them). I also used 1 cup regular flour, and 1/2 cup oats, and added 1/2 t cinnamon and vanilla (as was suggested in reviews). I also used 1/2 c buttermilk and 1 cup milk. For fun, I added chopped nuts and dried fruit (but will add dried apples next time if I have on hand). Seriously, they smelled so good when cooking, and were SO light and fluffy! I think maybe using less sweet potatoes helped, other reviewers seemed to use a lot more, making them much more heavy and dense. I'll post a pic of what I made. Am VERY happy with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I THINK THE RECIPE SUBMITTER INTENDED FOR PEOPLE TO USE 3/4 LB. OF SWEET POTATO WEIGHED AFTER COOKING THEM, but she didn't write that, and I went by the recipe as written. I couldn't get these to cook through. The only thing I changed was to add a bit more spice. I cooked them for twice as long as I usually cook pancakes, and on a hotter griddle, but they came out gooey and inedible. Next time, I'll add a T. of sugar to the wet ingredients. And I'll separate the eggs and beat the whites until they make peaks. I'll use less milk to make them less wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States