Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I made a couple changes, just for my tastes. I made the milk sour, using a tablespoon of vinegar per cup. This was not a good addition. If I made them again, I would stick with just plain whole milk. I used canned sweet potatoes, with the juice drained off, about half of a 28 oz. can. I also used about a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice and added a half cup of brown sugar. It wasn't sweet enough for my tastes, so I might add in the couple of tablespoons that the recipe calls for. I also will add pecans next time. I didn't this time because I didn't have any. I also made this batter the night before and didn't overmix. The pancake batter was incredibly fluffy. This batter is also moist, which required a little more cooking time than your usual pancake batter. The kids loved them, and I liked the change from the usual weekend pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Yammy pancakes, Is what were calling them. Added 1.4 cup brown sugar to sweeten them up a bit, and used pumpkin spice blend in place of all the spices. Added 1 more cup of milk for consistancy, and found that we had to cook them extra slow and long on LOW LOW heat, keeping them from burning. We also had 1/2 and 1/2 of sweet potatoes, and new red potatoes. It was a sweet blend. My 3 year old has eaten the whole plate of left overs today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiek

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This recipe provided a very easy, tasty, and healthy alternative to the boring sweet potatoes with sour cream we usually have. I suggest cooking the potatoes in the microwave since after 20 minutes of boiling (more than the recipe requested) the middle was still very hard - I had to cook them in the microwave for an extra 15 minutes before they could be mashed. I replaced the butter with margarine, which worked just as well and is much healthier. Next time I'll try it with less margarine, and I'll double the recipe since we're a very hungry family of four and those pancakes disappeared very fast! All in all, this was a great recipe. It took me more time than I expected but next time I make it, it will probably be much faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
These were delicious, without tasting too healthy. I might experiment with upping the spices a little bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
My whole family liked these sweet potato pancakes. I served them for dinner. I baked yams instead of boiling, it seemed to bring out their sweeter taste. I wonder if it called for too much flour in the recipe though. It seemed like I could definitely taste the flour. I will try to add less next time but will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UMNICHKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
this was so easy and good not to mention healty kids love it. it always fun to have pancakes for supper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I made these pancakes this morning and I did not think they were special. I did add cinnamon, vanilla, brown sugar, and pecans. I could not even taste the sweet potatoes. I think I'd prefer to make regular pancakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made the recipe as written. These pancakes were awesome. I wasn't sure what 3/4lb of sweet potatoes comes out to so I used one cup mashed sweet potatoes and that was perfect. This recipes is a keeper for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I loved this recipe. I did however make my own modifications. I read the other reviews and reduced the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp, added a 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla. I also put in a dash of ground cloves. Also, I used Egg Nog instead of the Milk. Well, technically, I used Soy Nog, but I know thats not everyones cup of milk. Also, I had to add more Nog when I mixed the wet batter into the dry batter because it was more like a dough than a batter. Other than that it was unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
It was a big hit for my children but my husband is used to real potato pancakes and he didn't like the sweet potato taste. I probably would make it again if I had lots of sweet potatoes left over like I did for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States