Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I had leftover mashed sweet potatoes from dinner the night before and found this recipe to use them up. From now on, I will be making extra sweet potatoes just to make these pancakes. They are so yummy! My kids all loved them and I felt good giving them an extra nutritional boost before school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Unfortunately...I did not have sweet potatoes on-hand. I substituted russet potatoes. We were very impressed with the fluffiness of the pancakes and the flavor. Will try these again using sweet potatoes...but will definitely come back to regular potatoe pancakes as well. Perfect for someone looking for a low-sugar pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Yum! I used leftover mashed sweet potatos and therefore added: 1 t cinnomon 1/4 c sugar 1/2 c chopped toasted almonds 2-4 oz cream cheese when mashing potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
If Fall could have a flavor, this would be it! I added 1/4 c. brown sugar, which was plenty, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and then 1 T. ground flaxseed (just because flaxseed is supposed to be so healthy for you and you can add it to recipes and not even tell it's in there)Make sure when they're cooking that you flatten out the batter (it's rather thick) so that the middle of the pancake gets cooked. Very, very good-thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I tried this recipe in an attempt to use up the sweet potato bounty from the garden. I followed some of the tips given by other reviewers and the pancakes came out perfect. My daughter and I loved them, hubby didn't care for them. We liked them best with a sour cream topping. Popped the leftovers in the toaster for breakfast the next morning, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I agree with previous reviewers who said that they recipe needed more sugar. I also added some cinnamon, and think vanilla extract would have been good. It tasted kind of like an incredibly dense, heavy, and thick pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was Great! Instead of nutmeg, I used cinnamon, brown sugar, and pure vanilla extract to taste. Awesome! Thanks for this idea, I never thought of mixing sweet potato with pancakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiana_Luvs_Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
So good! Next time I'll add a little sugar to the batter to sweeten them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
These were very good, but extremely salty! I'm going to halve or quarter the salt next time. I also added some cinnamon, but maybe I'll add some allspice next time too. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I made a couple changes, just for my tastes. I made the milk sour, using a tablespoon of vinegar per cup. This was not a good addition. If I made them again, I would stick with just plain whole milk. I used canned sweet potatoes, with the juice drained off, about half of a 28 oz. can. I also used about a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice and added a half cup of brown sugar. It wasn't sweet enough for my tastes, so I might add in the couple of tablespoons that the recipe calls for. I also will add pecans next time. I didn't this time because I didn't have any. I also made this batter the night before and didn't overmix. The pancake batter was incredibly fluffy. This batter is also moist, which required a little more cooking time than your usual pancake batter. The kids loved them, and I liked the change from the usual weekend pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States