Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I was so looking forward to these pancakes as they sounded so good. I found them tasteless and not worth the time it took to make them. Even tried them without syrup and could not taste the sweet potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Im giving this 5 stars for the taste and 4 stars for the effort/time. Between cooking the sweet potatoes (15 min in the microwave) and then cooking MANY batches of the dollar sized pancakes which took MUCH longer than a regular pancake to cook all the way through, THANK GOD the end result was worth it. Lots of healthy pancakes I can freeze and pop in the toaster for my toddler. I made the following changes: 1 cup flour and 1/2 cup oats 1/2 tsp vanilla 1-2 TBS maple syrup for some sweetness 1/4 tsp nutmeg 1/2 tsp cinnamon only 2 TBS butter Will make again, just when I have lots more time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I had leftover mashed sweet potatoes from dinner the night before and found this recipe to use them up. From now on, I will be making extra sweet potatoes just to make these pancakes. They are so yummy! My kids all loved them and I felt good giving them an extra nutritional boost before school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Unfortunately...I did not have sweet potatoes on-hand. I substituted russet potatoes. We were very impressed with the fluffiness of the pancakes and the flavor. Will try these again using sweet potatoes...but will definitely come back to regular potatoe pancakes as well. Perfect for someone looking for a low-sugar pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Yum! I used leftover mashed sweet potatos and therefore added: 1 t cinnomon 1/4 c sugar 1/2 c chopped toasted almonds 2-4 oz cream cheese when mashing potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
If Fall could have a flavor, this would be it! I added 1/4 c. brown sugar, which was plenty, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and then 1 T. ground flaxseed (just because flaxseed is supposed to be so healthy for you and you can add it to recipes and not even tell it's in there)Make sure when they're cooking that you flatten out the batter (it's rather thick) so that the middle of the pancake gets cooked. Very, very good-thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I tried this recipe in an attempt to use up the sweet potato bounty from the garden. I followed some of the tips given by other reviewers and the pancakes came out perfect. My daughter and I loved them, hubby didn't care for them. We liked them best with a sour cream topping. Popped the leftovers in the toaster for breakfast the next morning, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I agree with previous reviewers who said that they recipe needed more sugar. I also added some cinnamon, and think vanilla extract would have been good. It tasted kind of like an incredibly dense, heavy, and thick pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was Great! Instead of nutmeg, I used cinnamon, brown sugar, and pure vanilla extract to taste. Awesome! Thanks for this idea, I never thought of mixing sweet potato with pancakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiana_Luvs_Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
So good! Next time I'll add a little sugar to the batter to sweeten them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States