Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Yum! I used leftover mashed sweet potatos and therefore added: 1 t cinnomon 1/4 c sugar 1/2 c chopped toasted almonds 2-4 oz cream cheese when mashing potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
If Fall could have a flavor, this would be it! I added 1/4 c. brown sugar, which was plenty, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and then 1 T. ground flaxseed (just because flaxseed is supposed to be so healthy for you and you can add it to recipes and not even tell it's in there)Make sure when they're cooking that you flatten out the batter (it's rather thick) so that the middle of the pancake gets cooked. Very, very good-thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I tried this recipe in an attempt to use up the sweet potato bounty from the garden. I followed some of the tips given by other reviewers and the pancakes came out perfect. My daughter and I loved them, hubby didn't care for them. We liked them best with a sour cream topping. Popped the leftovers in the toaster for breakfast the next morning, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I agree with previous reviewers who said that they recipe needed more sugar. I also added some cinnamon, and think vanilla extract would have been good. It tasted kind of like an incredibly dense, heavy, and thick pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was Great! Instead of nutmeg, I used cinnamon, brown sugar, and pure vanilla extract to taste. Awesome! Thanks for this idea, I never thought of mixing sweet potato with pancakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiana_Luvs_Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
So good! Next time I'll add a little sugar to the batter to sweeten them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
These were very good, but extremely salty! I'm going to halve or quarter the salt next time. I also added some cinnamon, but maybe I'll add some allspice next time too. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I made a couple changes, just for my tastes. I made the milk sour, using a tablespoon of vinegar per cup. This was not a good addition. If I made them again, I would stick with just plain whole milk. I used canned sweet potatoes, with the juice drained off, about half of a 28 oz. can. I also used about a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice and added a half cup of brown sugar. It wasn't sweet enough for my tastes, so I might add in the couple of tablespoons that the recipe calls for. I also will add pecans next time. I didn't this time because I didn't have any. I also made this batter the night before and didn't overmix. The pancake batter was incredibly fluffy. This batter is also moist, which required a little more cooking time than your usual pancake batter. The kids loved them, and I liked the change from the usual weekend pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Yammy pancakes, Is what were calling them. Added 1.4 cup brown sugar to sweeten them up a bit, and used pumpkin spice blend in place of all the spices. Added 1 more cup of milk for consistancy, and found that we had to cook them extra slow and long on LOW LOW heat, keeping them from burning. We also had 1/2 and 1/2 of sweet potatoes, and new red potatoes. It was a sweet blend. My 3 year old has eaten the whole plate of left overs today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiek

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This recipe provided a very easy, tasty, and healthy alternative to the boring sweet potatoes with sour cream we usually have. I suggest cooking the potatoes in the microwave since after 20 minutes of boiling (more than the recipe requested) the middle was still very hard - I had to cook them in the microwave for an extra 15 minutes before they could be mashed. I replaced the butter with margarine, which worked just as well and is much healthier. Next time I'll try it with less margarine, and I'll double the recipe since we're a very hungry family of four and those pancakes disappeared very fast! All in all, this was a great recipe. It took me more time than I expected but next time I make it, it will probably be much faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 161-170 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States