Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I do not like pancakes but my boys wanted some for dinner. I wanted to make sure they ate something healthy. These were Amazing. They said the pancakes were the best. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hall Lynam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These pancakes are good for sho !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dighton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I've made this recipe 5 times now. I always double the recipe so I could freeze extra. They were awesome and I vowed to never make regular pancakes again. However, the last 2 times I made them I haven't been able to get them to cook through. I've lowered the heat on my frying pan and added extra milk to make the batter thinner. Nothing seemed to work. I'm very frusterated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I always like to taste the batter just a little before I cook recipes. Well when I tasted this one it was too salty and had no flavor. I like a pancake that can stand alone without syrup and this one didn't taste like it could do that. So I added a little Allspice, a little more Nutmeg and a hint of Cinnamon. I also added a little Vanilla Extract. This improved the flavor, however once I finally got that under control, the batter was too thick. I didn't add enough spices to affect the thickness so something else was wrong with this. I cooked them on a griddle and the insides weren't done. I was very disappointed with this recipe and won't make it again unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
these are great with sour cream as a dipping sauce like sweet potato fries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made these with modifications: started with 1 cup leftover mashed sweet potato, subbed 1 and 1/4 cup whole wheat flour for the flour, added 1/2 cup of milk for the consistency, subbed vegetable oil for butter because I realized I forgot it after I started cooking the pancakes, added 1 heaping tablespoon of sugar, added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, and added 1/4 cup of flaxseed meal to add some hidden fiber. They smelled awesome and tasted great...although I didn't really taste the potato very strongly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Good recipe. Think Ill add some brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
These are awesome made with leftover sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving. Fabulous topped with leftover cranberries. I'll have to make another batch, because husband and son ate each one as it came hot off the griddle - just as they were. My son said they taste like pumpkin donuts (I always add brown sugar, Marshmallows and Cinnamon to my Thanksgiving Sweet Potatoes). Just weigh out the leftover sweet potatoes and follow the recipe. Try topping The resulting fluffy and delicious pancakes with cranberries, a dollop of vanilla yogurt or sour cream and roasted pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREADE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Mmmm good! I used a 14oz can of pure pureed pumpkin (about 2 cups) instead of bothering with the sweet potatoes and it turned out great! I also added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, a little vanilla, a tbsp of sugar and 1/4 cup of wheat germ (for added nutrition) and my 14 month old and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I was so looking forward to these pancakes as they sounded so good. I found them tasteless and not worth the time it took to make them. Even tried them without syrup and could not taste the sweet potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States