Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I always like to taste the batter just a little before I cook recipes. Well when I tasted this one it was too salty and had no flavor. I like a pancake that can stand alone without syrup and this one didn't taste like it could do that. So I added a little Allspice, a little more Nutmeg and a hint of Cinnamon. I also added a little Vanilla Extract. This improved the flavor, however once I finally got that under control, the batter was too thick. I didn't add enough spices to affect the thickness so something else was wrong with this. I cooked them on a griddle and the insides weren't done. I was very disappointed with this recipe and won't make it again unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
these are great with sour cream as a dipping sauce like sweet potato fries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made these with modifications: started with 1 cup leftover mashed sweet potato, subbed 1 and 1/4 cup whole wheat flour for the flour, added 1/2 cup of milk for the consistency, subbed vegetable oil for butter because I realized I forgot it after I started cooking the pancakes, added 1 heaping tablespoon of sugar, added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, and added 1/4 cup of flaxseed meal to add some hidden fiber. They smelled awesome and tasted great...although I didn't really taste the potato very strongly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Good recipe. Think Ill add some brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT-LYNN'sCookin!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
These are awesome made with leftover sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving. Fabulous topped with leftover cranberries. I'll have to make another batch, because husband and son ate each one as it came hot off the griddle - just as they were. My son said they taste like pumpkin donuts (I always add brown sugar, Marshmallows and Cinnamon to my Thanksgiving Sweet Potatoes). Just weigh out the leftover sweet potatoes and follow the recipe. Try topping The resulting fluffy and delicious pancakes with cranberries, a dollop of vanilla yogurt or sour cream and roasted pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREADE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Mmmm good! I used a 14oz can of pure pureed pumpkin (about 2 cups) instead of bothering with the sweet potatoes and it turned out great! I also added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, a little vanilla, a tbsp of sugar and 1/4 cup of wheat germ (for added nutrition) and my 14 month old and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I was so looking forward to these pancakes as they sounded so good. I found them tasteless and not worth the time it took to make them. Even tried them without syrup and could not taste the sweet potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Im giving this 5 stars for the taste and 4 stars for the effort/time. Between cooking the sweet potatoes (15 min in the microwave) and then cooking MANY batches of the dollar sized pancakes which took MUCH longer than a regular pancake to cook all the way through, THANK GOD the end result was worth it. Lots of healthy pancakes I can freeze and pop in the toaster for my toddler. I made the following changes: 1 cup flour and 1/2 cup oats 1/2 tsp vanilla 1-2 TBS maple syrup for some sweetness 1/4 tsp nutmeg 1/2 tsp cinnamon only 2 TBS butter Will make again, just when I have lots more time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I had leftover mashed sweet potatoes from dinner the night before and found this recipe to use them up. From now on, I will be making extra sweet potatoes just to make these pancakes. They are so yummy! My kids all loved them and I felt good giving them an extra nutritional boost before school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Unfortunately...I did not have sweet potatoes on-hand. I substituted russet potatoes. We were very impressed with the fluffiness of the pancakes and the flavor. Will try these again using sweet potatoes...but will definitely come back to regular potatoe pancakes as well. Perfect for someone looking for a low-sugar pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States