Louisiana Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
These were great! I put in some chili, cayenne, lime, cardamom, and a touch of cinnamon. I served them with yogurt and they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I agree with the other reviews that these were too "eggy". I will try again with one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Wow, these pancackes are delicious. I use about 1 heaping cup of sweet potatoes for this and it's perfect. I also add 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and omit the nutmeg since it's too overpowering. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These were fantastic. I don't regularly mash potatoes so I did have a little trouble. After 15 minutes the potatoes seemed tender, but when I began to cut them up and mash them I found the middles were still very hard. I put the half-mash into the microwave for about 30 seconds which helped some. Still, my mash ended up awfully chunky. Made for an interesting texture though and everyone still loved them! The whole house thought I was baking cookies from the scents wafting through the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
AWESOME!! The kids ate them and they love regular buttermilk pancakes. The only thing I would change is to add more milk, I thinned the batter so they cooked all the way through. (my husband hates mushey pancakes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very good. These have a deep nutty flavor and aren't very sweet. If eating for breakfast pancakes, you may want to add a tablespoon of brown sugar to the batter, but we liked them the way they are. We plan to have some for lunch toasted with butter and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I thought these were good. I used 1 c. mashed sweet potatoes. It is hard to tell how much it will be as some sweet potatoes are large, some are small- so 1 cup already mashed was good for us. I added 1 tsp. vanilla, cut back nutmeg and added cinnamon and a little pumpkin pie spice also. Tastes great with 1 TBSP brown sugar added, as well as some pecans. **You must thin this batter (all pancake batter) to a pourable consistency or you will have trouble. A pancake batter should bubble so that you know when to flip. After I flip them, I had to flatten these some with the spatula to be sure they were cooking all the way through. I did get them a little golden as they tasted better then and the smell was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Tastey. What a good use for leftover Thanksgiving sweet potatoes! I added more milk as necessary. Tried with and without a little added vanilla extract. It was good either way. We served with a little powdered sugar and maple syrup. I also added some sliced bananas to my plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mama of four
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
A great recipe! WE LOVE IT! Kids said it tasted like pumpkin pie pancakes! The only thing I changed was to add a big teaspoon of cinnamon to the mix. We are big fans of butter so we didn't even cut it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made these for a Thanksgiving dinner side dish, hoping my kids would eat some "vegetables". What a hit! I used canned yams, drained, whipped them up in the food processor, then added each ingredient and blended well. Easy to and fun make, and the whole family loved it! Had leftover batter and made for breakfast the next morning. Will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States