Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This was a great "base" recipes for shrimp creole. As one user stated, the sauce just tasted like tomatoes. I used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes and tomatoe paste for the sauce. I also had to add aaaaaalot of seasoning to the sauce to give it some flavor. I added paprika, extra worsteshire, red pepper flakes, seasoning salt and a healthy amount of old bay. I added these ingredients a little at a time unti the creole was very flavorful and spicy. Also, after peeling the shrimp I added a little salt and pepper and let them marinate in the fridge with hot sauce for about 20 minutes. Overall, this recipe was great, however if you like your food flavorful you'll need to add a lot of seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
this is a good, easy recipe and it contains what we old cajuns call the "holy trinity", celery, bell peppers and onions. if you can, only buy shrimp exactly the way they came out of the sea, put the shells and heads in 2 cups of water and boil down until you get about 1/8 of a cup and add it to the mixture, it will add much more shrimp flavor, also, folks outside of the area continue to believe that everything we eat is "hot", when we say "spicy" we mean that our food uses many types of spices, not just chili powder or hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
The 2T of cornstarch is too much. Both my husband and I thought the sauce was too thick. I'll try it again with less cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Delicious! Since I prefer spicy foods, I took the advice of others and went heavy with Texas Pete hot sauce and chili powder, and also threw in some cayenne and thyme. Also, I omitted the can of tomato sauce, since I was pleased with the consistency after adding everything else. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This recipe was easy and fairly fast. I followed the recipe as printed, but thought there was too much liquid and it needed more hot sauce. I will make it again, but with a few changes: more spice (cayenne?), less tomato sauce and chop the vegetables into larger pieces so they don't disappear into the sauce when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
EXCELLENT DISH! As fast as it takes to say "chop chop and stir stir," this receipe was done. So fast and easy...and sooooo good. Spicy but not hot (my daughter could even eat it). I added some red bell peppers but is not needed to make the dish. We all give this one two thumbs up! Thanks katrina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This is probably my favorite recipe on this website! I've been making this for dinner for years and my family absolutely loves it!! I make it exactly as written, and serve over rice. There are never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
My husband's grandmother came to visit and requested I make or take her out for shrimp creole. She is a VERY hard to please woman and I had never had it, let alone made it. I followed this recipe to the T and it was a HUGE hit! She is still raving about it months later. For my husband and I we now add a little more chili powder, hot sauce, and a bit of cayenne to spice it up, but even without the spice it has a super yummy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This is a great recipe! I've tried shrimp Creole recipes in the past and they never tasted quite right. This was the taste I've never been able to quite touch on, until now. I spooned out the kids plates first then loaded the pot with hot pepper for my husband and I. Just right! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miriam
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This WAS easy to make, and since I was peeling my raw shrimp anyway, I decided to take THEDAD's suggestion to make a stock from the shells. I also used a bit of fresh ground black pepper, and about a tablespoon of dried parsley (but I also needed to double the recipe). My family of finicky eaters LOVED it! I will definately make this again, even if I take some's suggestion to use cut up chicken breast pieces to save a little $$$$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States