Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I love this recipe and have made it about a dozen times, including tonight. My minor alterations make it even better, at least to me. I put it over grits instead of rice, dice a fresh slicing tomato (or a couple of Romas), and just use a dash or so of red pepper flakes for heat. Love it...even using cornstarch instead of making a time-consuming roux. I live on the Gulf--I should know great creole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I used this recipe yesterday and it was quite tasty. I must admit I was a little heavy handed with the Red Pepper Flakes, so it was extra spicy. I like it spicy but my boyfriend had a hard time, there was a fire in his belly. Will definitely make this again but next time I will take it easy with the flakes. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I didn't have everything on hand so I had to improvise. I only used stewed tomatoes, no tomato sauce. I used a frozen stir fry mixture of onion and bell peppers, garlic powder instead of garlic cloves, and celery seed instead of fresh celery. I also added some creole seasoning, Old Bay and black pepper. I served it over spaghetti noodles, but next time I would definitely have it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This stuff is amazing!! I added like 2 or 3 tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning and and instead of the chili powdered I used something called "Slap Yo Momma"... It's a Southern thing ;) But very spicy and yummy. It wasn't too hot at all. I added the stewed tomatoes and okra that I precooked. OMG it was DELISH!!!! and I didn't use the tomato sauce. This was soooo good and everyone loved it! Thank you so much for the recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miemaleadres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
We brought back 25 pounds of shrimp from the Gulf. After looking at all the recipes for creole, this one seemed to be the best. We absolutely loved it! Made the recipe exactly as stated. So glad you offered it. This is definitely a KEEPER. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was really good. I served this with rice and a side of turnip and mustard greens. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Deevah Socialite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Nice, simple and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Utah, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Recipe was very easy to prepare. I did substitute 2 cans of Rotel for the stewed tomatoes to give it a little more kick. Very good and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Guidry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeanerette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lydia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
We had this recipe tonight for dinner. It was really good. I did add old bay seasoning as suggested before and only 1 tbs of corn starch. It came out great. We will definetly have this recipe again and again. Even my 1 and 3 year old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This shrimp creole was great, and, having lived most of my life in Louisiana, I have had my share of shrimp creole! This was the first time I ever made it, however. I sifted through the recipes on this website, and the ingredients and method of preparation looked to be the closest to authentic Louisiana shrimp creole, so this is the one I prepared. It was not only delicious, but really healthy compared to most Louisiana food! I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States