Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I have made Shrimp Creole for years and we love it with a crisp salad and southern biscuits. Since reading the reviews I will have to make it w/the shrimp stock. I don't even have to taste this recipe w/the fresh shrimp stock i know it will be yummy. Thanks to cajun viewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very good. This is a quick meal doesn't really improve with longer cooking--20 mins. tops. It's better the next day. Additional spices help, but that's a matter of taste, so to speak. I used only a tsp of cornstarch, and won't next time. It turned this light, summery dish into a heavy, gloppy stew. Canned tomatoes (stewed or plain) work fine, but I think fresh (peeled and seeded) would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This had a great taste, but didn't look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
- butter, cornstarch, chili powder +paprika, cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
My mother made this for many years, but there is one difference which I think will improve that "missing flavor" many of you have talked about. We always added smoked sausage which was sliced and added with the vegetables (you can decrease or eliminate the butter when using sausage). I have used beef or turkey smoked sausage & both taste great....of course turkey is the healthier version. Try it with the sausage....you'll love it! It makes this a 5 star recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very good basic recipe. Just need to add lots of spices. I didnt add any cornstarch but used some tomatoe paste instead. Will cook this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I loved this recipe because it was so simple, and really highlighted the different ingredients. I added a handful of fresh chopped parsley towards the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe as indicated, and it turned out excellent! The only thing was I added less cayenne pepper since I'm not a big fan of spicy food, but other than that, the dish was a success! Thanks for the recipe, will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latinasoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This is a classic recipe, but I agree with other reviewers that it needs a bit more herbal seasoning. I added some oregano, thyme, and rosemary, along with a bit of Old Bay and smoked paprika. And the suggestion to make a stock of the shrimp shells really boosted the shrimp flavor. I used flour instead of cornstarch and petite diced tomatoes w/some tomato paste. I haven't yet been able to duplicate my mother's, but this is the closest I've come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sven-golly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
in echoing what everyone else said... this was good but it needed a lot more seasoning than is called for in the recipe. I added some oregano, paprika, soy sauce,more hot sauce, more chili powder, some black pepper... etc. Without these it would have tasted like tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States