Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Very bland. I added cayenne and bayleaf, and wish I had added a LOT more onions, bell pepper, and celery and a lot LESS tomato. No tomato sauce next time. Better to cook a little longer and get real flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I really liked it. The only thing I changed was omitting cornstarch & substituted with tomato paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This recipe is super easy and SO yummy! I use tiger shrimp - in my opinion the high quality shrimp is necessary to make it fabulous. :) We love spicy and put in a few more dashes of hot sauce and it's perfect! We serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a good basic recipe and quick too. I used this as a "take-off" point and threw in a bit of my own tastes. Added extra onion and green pepper in good sized chunks and used fresh tomatoes (peel & seed - it's important). I use Epicure Cajun seasoning (Canadians will know the company), two drops of liquid smoke, and a really big shake of Cholula hot sauce. The trick is to add a couple drops of Vietnamese fermented fish sauce to add richness without tasting fishy. Took it to work tonight over quinoa instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanadjinEh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
It was perfect and easy to modify. Super easy, anyone could do it. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Agree with others who said flour for thickening is not needed. I made a double batch and spiced it up even more using 1T. Creole seasoning 1/2 T. Chef Paul Seafood Magic. Also added a bit of fresh chopped hot peppers (Santa Fe Grande). Awesome Creole. Served over rice with hot apple strudel muffins on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was really good. After reading many reviews I added a few things. I added about 2 teaspoons of Frank's Cayenne sauce, several shakes of Trappey's pepper vinegar, a bay leaf, about a 1/4 cup of shrimp stock and some paprika. I served it over grits and it was great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Jamison
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I tried this recipe last night, and it was very good. After reading some reviews before I made it, I changed it up just a bit. I doubled the onion, green bell peppers, and celery. I used 1 stick of butter and 1/4 flour for the roux, and doubled the tomato's. I added cajun seasoning, in place of the chili powder and 2 lbs of shrimp. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Delicious, but I added a lot of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
A wonderful dish. A great base to start with and then just add things to your liking. This was a HUGE hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States