Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brandon Vardy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I subbed the starch for ocra.it tastes awesome. Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Vardy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was an awesome recipe. I tried this over grits, after trying it at a local restaurant. It came out very similar. I was very pleased with the flavor, but instead of hot sauce I added a little cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
very good. used diced tomatoes w/seasoning because that is what I had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I agree with others that this is a great base recipe but needs more seasoning. I made it as written except I used 12 oz shrimp and 8 oz cod. I boiled 3/4 c dry white rice and mixed it in with the seafood tomato mixture, which made it like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
In my case, the recipe was easy to cook the sauce was ok, I used old bay instead of chili powder but next time I would add some kind of seasoning or maybe just salt for the shrimp while I am preparing the recipe since I think the shrimps were kind of unflavored. Definitively I would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marco A

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I read the reviews and isn't amazing how peoples tastes differ? Irener thinks the sauce is too thick and kerrypat thinks it's too thin. Just goes to show, you can't please everyone. Instad of adding a can of stewed tomatoes, try adding a can of "Rotel" diced tomatoes and green chilies. It comes in mild, medium and hot which should take care of everyones idea of "spicy". It also comes in "Chili Fixin's" which already has chili powder in it. I LOVE garlic so I added 2 more garlic cloves. I liked the idea of adding more vegetables and chopping them more coarsely. Just a suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I can't believe I haven't rated this yet because I've been making it just as written for years now. My husband requested Shrimp Creole and this is the first recipe I hit on and we both love it. I don't think you need to change a thing. Great recipe and great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
To make this taste more "creole", I only use San Marzino canned tomatoes and "cut" in the spices (use 2 tablespoon of Chile Powder), 3-4 tblspoon of Worcestershire sauce, and double the onions and green pepper. I also used 1.5 lbs of small precooked shrimp instead of medium. Mince the garlic and I used 3 cloves. Hot sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ganzkow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly and was surprised that it did not require me to modify to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjacks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
My husband loved it! I did not use the cornstarch, the sauce was thick enough on its own and I added frozen, cut okra. I also cooked the shrimp in a separate pan with butter and Tony Chachere's until they were nearly done and finished cooking them in the sauce. I served it over rice and my husband nearly ate all of it. This recipe is easy to prepare and leaves room to add other ingredients if desired. I will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States