Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I loved this recipe because it was so simple, and really highlighted the different ingredients. I added a handful of fresh chopped parsley towards the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe as indicated, and it turned out excellent! The only thing was I added less cayenne pepper since I'm not a big fan of spicy food, but other than that, the dish was a success! Thanks for the recipe, will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latinasoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This is a classic recipe, but I agree with other reviewers that it needs a bit more herbal seasoning. I added some oregano, thyme, and rosemary, along with a bit of Old Bay and smoked paprika. And the suggestion to make a stock of the shrimp shells really boosted the shrimp flavor. I used flour instead of cornstarch and petite diced tomatoes w/some tomato paste. I haven't yet been able to duplicate my mother's, but this is the closest I've come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sven-golly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
in echoing what everyone else said... this was good but it needed a lot more seasoning than is called for in the recipe. I added some oregano, paprika, soy sauce,more hot sauce, more chili powder, some black pepper... etc. Without these it would have tasted like tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
NOt enough flavor. I added extra seasoning and worshire sauce but it wasn't that great of a flavor. My boyfrien liked it more than I thought he would though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Afor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good. I made it exactly as written. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARON1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
LOVED THIS RECIPE,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
this recipe was pretty good; the family loved it. next time i make it i'll leave out the stewed tomatoes and just use tomato sauce and add my own tomatoes; that way they're a decent size. and i added 2 tsps of sugar just before i added the shrimp, and of course, a bit more cayenne :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This recipe was good once I added more seasonings: 1 tsp of Emiril's creole seasoning, 1/2 tsp more of chili powder and 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes to give it a little extra kick. Try this, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was good. I added extra red pepper since that is too my taste. It kicked up the flavor and this decreased the tomato taste to the sauce. I also added cucumbers and pineapples for just something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States