Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This recipe is good, but needs more flavor. It may taste better tomorrow. My husband loved it. The sauce is too thick, and next time I will try less cornstarch, and may add a little more chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Went to a restaurant and my wife decided to order the special, which was Shrimp Creole". Tasting it, I thought how easy it must be. Looked up this recipe and have made it for her around 20 times. Excellent, but I kick it up with more Chili Powder and Pepper Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailor55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This was so easy to make and my family liked it. I used flour as I did not have corn starch to thicken the bas and it was good. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I needed a quick recipe for dinner and had a craving for Creole. The recipe was an excellent fast version and the taste was great. If anything, it needed a little more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Creole is my favorite dish when we visit NOLA and this was my most successful attempt. I substituted creole seasoning for the chili powder (adding a little more as mentioned by other reviewers) and doubled the onions, peppers, celery and garlic. I followed directions from that point and it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Very bland. I added cayenne and bayleaf, and wish I had added a LOT more onions, bell pepper, and celery and a lot LESS tomato. No tomato sauce next time. Better to cook a little longer and get real flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I really liked it. The only thing I changed was omitting cornstarch & substituted with tomato paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This recipe is super easy and SO yummy! I use tiger shrimp - in my opinion the high quality shrimp is necessary to make it fabulous. :) We love spicy and put in a few more dashes of hot sauce and it's perfect! We serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a good basic recipe and quick too. I used this as a "take-off" point and threw in a bit of my own tastes. Added extra onion and green pepper in good sized chunks and used fresh tomatoes (peel & seed - it's important). I use Epicure Cajun seasoning (Canadians will know the company), two drops of liquid smoke, and a really big shake of Cholula hot sauce. The trick is to add a couple drops of Vietnamese fermented fish sauce to add richness without tasting fishy. Took it to work tonight over quinoa instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanadjinEh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
It was perfect and easy to modify. Super easy, anyone could do it. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States