Louisiana Shrimp Creole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I agree with most of these reviews, it's a good base but it has too much tomato in it. There needs to be a roux, or something. Some zing to the zang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
As a quick meal this is one of the best. So simple, but yet so rewarding. I sub'd jalos for green peppers and used a TBSP of Old Bay instead of chili powder. Cooked it in a wok to keeps temps high while adding the shrimp. Dumped the finished creole in a bowl of jasmine rice. yeah, i prefer the J. Only complaint is that I am hungry 2 hours later. Never think you can't cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belgrade Lakes, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
It gets 3 stars as is. To improve it I substituted 2Tbl of flour for the cornstarch, upped the chili powder to 1Tbl and added 1Tbl of Cajun seasoning (I use Emril's). I also seasoned the shrimp with 1tsp of Cajun seasoning. I left the hot sauce out and added it after cooking for those who don't like the heat I do. Got good flavor with a slight kick of spice before the hot sauce was added. Make it as hot as you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scoot Sherrill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandon Vardy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I subbed the starch for ocra.it tastes awesome. Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Vardy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was an awesome recipe. I tried this over grits, after trying it at a local restaurant. It came out very similar. I was very pleased with the flavor, but instead of hot sauce I added a little cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
very good. used diced tomatoes w/seasoning because that is what I had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I agree with others that this is a great base recipe but needs more seasoning. I made it as written except I used 12 oz shrimp and 8 oz cod. I boiled 3/4 c dry white rice and mixed it in with the seafood tomato mixture, which made it like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
In my case, the recipe was easy to cook the sauce was ok, I used old bay instead of chili powder but next time I would add some kind of seasoning or maybe just salt for the shrimp while I am preparing the recipe since I think the shrimps were kind of unflavored. Definitively I would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marco A

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I read the reviews and isn't amazing how peoples tastes differ? Irener thinks the sauce is too thick and kerrypat thinks it's too thin. Just goes to show, you can't please everyone. Instad of adding a can of stewed tomatoes, try adding a can of "Rotel" diced tomatoes and green chilies. It comes in mild, medium and hot which should take care of everyones idea of "spicy". It also comes in "Chili Fixin's" which already has chili powder in it. I LOVE garlic so I added 2 more garlic cloves. I liked the idea of adding more vegetables and chopping them more coarsely. Just a suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I can't believe I haven't rated this yet because I've been making it just as written for years now. My husband requested Shrimp Creole and this is the first recipe I hit on and we both love it. I don't think you need to change a thing. Great recipe and great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States