Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Good, but I used tomato paste. I buy it in a tube so you don't have to waste the can and I put a lot of red pepper in it. My husband loves it hot and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Quick, easy, and very tasty. Might add some Sriracha next time for some spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UncleSkeleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
The first time I made it I hadn't made a roux before, so it was too thick, but still tasted good. The second time I think I got it right. I took it to a movie night/pot luck. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lone Cheese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
3.5 stars overall. I was a raised on a variation of this recipe, but I gave this one a shot for something a little different. I found the suggested amount of seasoning was too salty, but the directions did say "or to taste." My real complaints are that it's very thick and I had to double the amount of water t thin it and there was way too much diced onion. My husband complained that it gave him a stomach ache. OH well, worth a try, but I'll stick with my stepmom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Awesome, classic Louisiana recipe. I HAD to rate a 5 to offset the person who didn't understand to use the 6 cups of water for the rice! Thanks for printing this Bonniet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was delicious! I only made a few modifications.... added about 1/3 can of Tomatoe Sauce, 2 cloves of garlic and approx 2.5 tbls of cajun seasoning (maybe alittle more- I kept sprinkling it in for taste). Everything else stayed the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! It was so easy and tasty. Kerms it seems like what you did was mix it incorrectly. The 6 cups of water is used for cooking the 3 cups of rice. That would be done separate from the other part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Bettis Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is a simple and delicious recipe. Crawfish etoufee is one of my all-time favorite dishes, and this one measures up with the best of them. The only thing I would change is less water (only needs about 4 cups) and more tomato sauce (I use a whole 8oz can).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I am from Louisiana, born and raised, and as Cajun as it gets. This is how we make crawfish etouffee. Everybody's recipe is a little different. Most Cajuns put the "Trinity" in their etouffee. The Trinity is a compliment of seasonings that go together very well- bellpepper, celery, and onion. My family adds celery, and the only reason we leave the bellpepper out is because I am allergic to it. Great recipe. Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankiAndPaul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this recipe for some friends last night, while we watched the Mayweather fight, and it was absolutely great! Well I had to make a few adjustments. It was too thick going by the recipee. I had to add water a few times. I used minced garlic instead, didn't use that much flour, used alittle more tomatoe sauce. Added my cayenne pepper and tony chachere, oh and also added some hot richard's sausage, and it was perfect...and so easy to prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States